Cooking a joint of beef in a slow cooker

(6 Posts)
Eddas Tue 07-Oct-08 08:02:46

I know there are a million slow cooker threads but I have searched and can't find answers and don't have too much time to search

I have a couple of questions, dh seems to think just chuck it all in but from what i've read on here, should I

1) fry the onions?
2) brown the beef?
3) when making stock from stock cubes do i use boiling water like it says on the packet?

Do I really need to do 1 and 2? will it make it lovely and tasty? dh spent far too much on the beefangry so i really want it to be gorgeous

oh and

4) add cornflour mixed with water about half an hour prior to serving? to make the stock thicker?

Sorry i'm a completely rubbish cook and I have no one in rl to ask!blush

TIAsmile

eandh Tue 07-Oct-08 08:06:04

No idea mate but I'm staying at your for dinner when I drop G off wink

Furball Tue 07-Oct-08 08:09:29

I've done a brisket beef joint in the slow cooker. it was soooo tender it literally fell apart on cutting

I didn't fry/onion anything, put veg in the bottom, Carrots, swede and diced onion, placed joint on top and added about 1/4 pint of boiling water. (saves the slow cooker heating it up which takes yonks) Put the lid on and leave.

If you fry the onions and beef first, then you will not only add some colour, but also it will add different flavours - the onions will caramelise a little.

As it will only take a few minutes, probably worth doing this!

I don't know enough about slow cooking to know about the boiling water, but I would imagine that the answer is that it should be boiling, as it will help to keep the temperature up rather than the slow cooker having to heat water up from cold.

And with my slow cooker, as you have to turn it on for 10 minutes before you put any food in, to ensure that the temperature isn't too low, I would imagine that boiling water would help keep the cooking time down/within the time of the recipe.

lizziemun Tue 07-Oct-08 08:16:17