Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Disinterested in everything.

(14 Posts)
RoryG Thu 25-Feb-16 09:51:19

I don't know if this is just how I am or a mental health problem.

I feel no interest in anything and life seems pointless. I don't enjoy my work and I am fed up spending day in day out being bossed about and spending the majority of my time with people I don't like. I have no hobbies and I get hardly any sleep as the baby keeps me up. I have barely any friends.

I feel like it's all pointless anyway. Filling the gap between birth and death. It's boring. I am not interested.

Marchate Thu 25-Feb-16 11:17:30

How old is your baby? Do you have a partner? Does your family live nearby?

I am not a doctor, but it sounds like you're depressed. Maybe you could talk to your health visitor

I hope you feel better soon

RoryG Thu 25-Feb-16 13:13:29

He's 9 months. I have a lovely husband and close by family. I don't know if I'm depressed or not. Just totally indifferent to everything

HeffalumpHistory Thu 25-Feb-16 13:28:53

I think you should def speak to your hv/gp. It sounds very much like pnd (although I'm not a professional)
Pnd can occur at anytime in the first year or slightly beyond, I thought if you didn't get it straight away then you wouldn't until I suddenly felt very similar to how you describe when dd was 6months old.
Don't suffer alone, I promise people are there to help flowers

RoryG Fri 26-Feb-16 11:12:20

I feel like I'm wasting the gp's time if I go there and my hv is a colossal arse hole who I can't really talk to. I've heard of online self help resources for pnd so I'm going to look for those. Thanks for your help.

BubsandMoo Fri 26-Feb-16 11:44:19