Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you need help urgently, see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice.

Bipolar advice needed

(18 Posts)
LoTeQuiero Tue 15-Dec-15 21:59:52

Hi all, this is my first time posting here. I'm looking for some advice on how I handle this.

I have bipolar disorder, diagnosed in March last year. The diagnosis was the end of a long, rough road for me and retrospectively I realised that I've been suffering from it for years and years.

I've been taking 400mg of Sertraline and 800mg of Quetiapine (both built up gradually). However I ran out of Sertraline so I stopped taking it about 2 months ago. I didn't have any side effects from stopping and didn't notice any downward spirals, mood wise. I am desperate not to go back on it because I had some side effects that I really, really hated. So it's all been fine, I've been stable, and I was trying to reduce down on Quetiapine too. I should add that I am not under any MH care and I was left to it to judge my own dosage of Quetiapine (!!). The one psychiatrist I saw after diagnosis (private) said that 400-80-mg was where most people with bipolar settle. The other massive issue here is that the Quetiapine is quite suddenly having horrible side effects. If I take a large dose it makes me feel like I'm being smothered and it's the most frightening thing ever! It's disturbed my nights and brought me close to a panic attack several times. So I started taking the drug earlier and spacing out the doses - which has sort of helped but I still don't dare to take 800mg. Most of the time it's 600mg, sometimes 400mg.