Note: Mumsnet has not checked the knowledge, experience or professional qualifications of anyone posting on Mumsnet Talk, so this is not necessarily the best place to seek help if you're feeling seriously distressed or suicidal. Mumsnet cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. If you need help urgently, please see our mental health web guide which can point you to expert advice and support.

Insomnia - is it better to stay awake than have say an hour's sleep?

(9 Posts)
mirai Wed 21-Aug-13 23:37:15

Hi all!

Well I managed to get to bed a little earlier last night, but I have still got the problem of the racing mind, how can I stop it?

I think about things I have to do the next day, the next week, then I worry about things that I have no need worrying about today or never! As an example, I am a teacher, last night I am lying there at 1am worrying about whether or not when I'm 7/8 months pregnant I'll still have the energy to keep up with my job and play with the kids etc. A valid worry maybe except I'm not even bloody pregnant yet and probably won't be til next year!!!!!

Help! smile

Lemsy Tue 20-Aug-13 20:46:23

You should honour your own body clock especially as it sounds as though you really need your kip at the moment. Once the racing mind starts it's hard to switch off until exhaustion sets it. Explain to your DH and ask him to be quiet if he comes to bed later than you!

I used to get chronic sinusitis because of lack of sleep which has cleared up once sleep was sorted.

Go to bed at 10pm!

mirai Tue 20-Aug-13 00:48:14

Why am I not sleeping... This is going to sound really silly but it's my own fault.

DH has been working longer hours recently, when it gets to around 10 I say I'm off to bed, but DH always says it's too early and "let's just do the crossword" or something, I say ok because else I barely see him!