1. WELCOME PLEASE READ HERE FIRST

(145 Posts)
Laska42 Fri 24-May-13 13:10:58

Hello! And welcome to the 'Antidote to all diets'!

Now that Mumsnet has grouped us into the' mainstream? I thought (as someone who has been here since the start) that I'd post this quick welcome and point you around to where you'll find the best information we've gathered together the quickest .

5:2 is in our opinion not just a diet but a whole new Way of Eating which you can do for the rest of your life if you like..(some of us maintainers are planning to do just that) We think its the 'thin? for life option? and also of course were all hoping that it will have the added advantage of giving us great health benefits also.

So if you are new and have questions and want support we recommend you at first join The 5:2 diet thread.

I'm not linking it here as it moves so fast and We are currently at thread number 20 as I write this having started back in August 2012 on number 1! So as you can see there?s been a lot of ongoing support and help on that thread which we've all benefited from ..

I think you'll like it there , everyone is very friendly and helpful .

I'm now going on to mainly nick our lovely greeneggs post from the main thread here, but its evolved throughout the time we've been doing this so its good to read
------------------------------------------------------------

BASICS

The 5:2 diet was featured on Horizon in August 2012, and essentially requires you to fast for 2 non-consecutive days per week. The other 5 days, you can eat what you like, or approximately your TDEE (see explanation below). Alternate-day fasting is just how it sounds; you fast every other day. By "fasting", we mean that we keep our calorie consumption very low, around 500 calories on average for a woman, 600 for a man, on those days.

You'll find on these threads we use a number of acronyms. If you're new to the threads, or Mumsnet in general, they might not make much sense.

WOE/WOL = Way Of Eating/Way Of Life. We use this term instead of "diet" as many of us see this as something to do in the long term.

MFP = My Fitness Pal, a website many use for keeping track of the number of calories they're eating.

TDEE = Total Daily Energy Expenditure, quantifies the number of calories you burn in a day. This measure is best estimated by scaling your Basal Metabolic Rate to your level of activity. TDEE is critical in tailoring your nutrition plan to desired fitness goals. Here is a link to a calculator to help you figure out how many calories you should be eating in a day.

ADF = Alternate-day Fasting, as it says on the tin, fasting every other day rather than 5:2.

Michael Mosley has a website to accompany his new book on the subject. Please go check them out, as he's the whole reason most of us are here!

Here is a list of links to get you started with this way of eating. Please let us know if you find a new article or some other information online:

HINTS AND TIPS, SCIENCE AND OTHER GOOD STUFF WEVE GLEANED ALONG THE WAY

This thread is a good resource for some of the links and tips that get lost in these big threads. In addition to sharing links, we try to condense some of our top tips for fasting there. Keep in mind, we all do this differently, so these are just tips, not rules. This might be a good place to catch up with us if you're feeling a bit lost!

RECIPES

We have a recipe thread over currently here, please post any low-calorie recipes there so they don't get lost in these bigger threads!

MAINTENANCE THREAD

For those of you who are maintaining we have a separate board ,where we try and support each other to make this a life WOE. If you've been at this a while and are moving on to maintaining your goal weight, there is a thread called IF 4:3 5:2 Maintaining a healthy weight currently here

THE FAST DIET BOOKS

Dr Michael Mosley and MImi Spencer had now published a Fast Diet book and a recipe book.. there are others by other authors too,

THE HORIZON PROGRAMME WHICH STATED IT ALL

There's a link to the aforementioned Horizon programme here. This may not be here long as they do tend to disappear from the web

MEDIA STUFF

Here is the link to the BBC article regarding Michael Mosley's findings, which was featured on Horizon.

A blog post here gives some of the scientific explanation for why this way of eating helps you to not only lose weight, but improve your all-around health.

A Telegraph article which comments on the diet and gives a brief overview by Dr Mosley himself, very informative if you're just starting. (we highly recommend this for an overview)

ANOTHER USEFUL RESEARCH STUDY

A study discussed here gives commentary specifically addressing the effect of this diet on obese people (both men and women), with regard to both health and weight loss. ("After 8 weeks of treatment, participants had an average 12.5 lbs reduction in body weight and a 4 cm decrease in waist circumference. Total fat mass declined by about 12 lbs while lean body mass remained relatively constant.) it also mentions "Plasma adiponectin, a protein hormone that is elevated in obesity and associated with heart disease, dropped by 30%. As did LDL cholesterol (25%) and triglycerides (32%).")

Something to consider if you are currently your ideal BMI: this appears to suggest the benefits for women at a lower BMI might not be seeing the same health benefits that are found on men at their ideal BMI.

A BIG THANK YOU to all who have been contributing, btw. Most of us are learning this way of eating as we go along. All of the links above have been posted by others in our previous threads, and they've been very helpful. Sorry if I haven't given credit where it's due, but it was just enough of a job getting all the links re-copied and back into one post.

Come join us, and tell us about your experiences with this diet!

PLEASE DON'T POST HERE , BUT PLEASE DO JOIN US ON THE OTHER THREADS

THANKS and GOOD LUCK this is such a great WOE I?m sure you won?t regret doing it .

Laska

Laska42 Fri 24-May-13 13:12:36

Please can you bump this to keep it to the top of the list thanks

Laska42 Fri 24-May-13 13:20:12

bump

OlyRoller Netherlands Fri 24-May-13 13:32:48

I'll bump

Laska42 Fri 24-May-13 13:34:26

Sorry for all the question marks in my post .. its because I imported it it from word and obviously Mumsnet doesn't like the text ..

Also please ignore my deliberate error! The link to the book is of course The Fast Diet not the fat diet (duh!) blush. Obviously I still have fat fingers!grin

MayTheOddsBeEverInYourFavour Fri 24-May-13 19:57:27

Bumpty bump

OliviaMMumsnet (MNHQ) Fri 24-May-13 22:06:33

Laska42

Sorry for all the question marks in my post .. its because I imported it it from word and obviously Mumsnet doesn't like the text ..

Also please ignore my deliberate error! The link to the book is of course The Fast Diet not the fat diet (duh!) blush. Obviously I still have fat fingers!grin

Hello
I have kindly amended your typo as it seemed important grin
Sorry we can't do stickies but do keep this bumped
Happy Losing everyone
grin

catsrus Fri 24-May-13 22:40:20

As one of the original August guinea pigs (now 32lbs lighter) I am happy to keep bumping, welcome everyone!

Welcome smile

Laska42 Sat 25-May-13 07:36:17

Thats great Olivia Thanks a lot
bumpty bump

Laska42 Sat 25-May-13 07:41:40

bump again

serin Sat 25-May-13 17:48:12

.

BetsyBell Sat 25-May-13 19:25:22

bump

Laska42 Sun 26-May-13 11:42:37

bump

frenchfancy Mon 27-May-13 06:57:09

Bump

BetsyBell Mon 27-May-13 11:37:13

bump

Laska42 Mon 27-May-13 19:49:14

bump

plecofjustice Mon 27-May-13 20:39:07

Bump - shame about the stickies!

Laska42 Mon 27-May-13 22:11:10

...

frenchfancy Tue 28-May-13 09:09:49

Bump

Barbie1 Tue 28-May-13 09:12:40

L

Barbie1 Tue 28-May-13 09:12:54

Bump

Laska42 Tue 28-May-13 16:18:55

bump

GiraffesEatPineapples Tue 28-May-13 18:12:34

bumpety bump

catsrus Wed 29-May-13 07:33:41

Bump

Aftereightsarenolongermine Wed 29-May-13 07:52:58

Bump

Laska42 Wed 29-May-13 19:22:44

more bump

LeaveIt Thu 30-May-13 13:10:49

Bump

Laska42 Fri 31-May-13 13:28:36

bumpity

Hasywell Fri 31-May-13 20:14:57

Bump!

Mum2Fergus Sat 01-Jun-13 22:43:40

Bump

ProphetOfDoom Sat 01-Jun-13 22:49:42

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

DiaryOfAWimpyMum Sun 02-Jun-13 14:15:16

.

Talkinpeace Sun 02-Jun-13 19:48:51

crash bang wallop

BsshBossh Mon 03-Jun-13 18:45:34

Bumpity bump

BetsyBell Tue 04-Jun-13 09:12:45

boom

Miffytastic Tue 04-Jun-13 13:41:46

bump brew

LegoAcupuncture Wed 05-Jun-13 15:59:22

Just marking this as a ring to start it, also bumping grin

WillowB Wed 05-Jun-13 21:05:20

Bump

Figgyroll Thu 06-Jun-13 21:40:07

..

.

frenchfancy Mon 10-Jun-13 13:57:47

bump

Laska42 Mon 10-Jun-13 22:31:46

bump

BetsyBell Tue 11-Jun-13 10:06:52

bump

DebussyHead Tue 11-Jun-13 23:18:46

Bump

Figgyroll Wed 12-Jun-13 17:57:20

..

BsshBossh Thu 13-Jun-13 18:17:53

Bump

Laska42 Mon 17-Jun-13 18:49:16

bump

oohaveabanana Mon 17-Jun-13 18:53:22

Bump

Katnisscupcake Tue 18-Jun-13 07:25:32

Bump

Talkinpeace Tue 18-Jun-13 22:39:35

Bazinga

colafrosties Wed 19-Jun-13 22:46:52

Bump

.

frenchfancy Thu 20-Jun-13 06:25:03

bump

gorionine Thu 20-Jun-13 06:43:00

Thanks Laska42 I have seen there were a lot of 5:2 thread but was not quite sure what it was exactly. I am at the moment toying with the idea of joining but yet unsure what is best for me. I have huge weight and food issues (only recently admitting it to myself though) and have tried a lot of things which do work for a while but only to 'patch up'. I will be 40 in a few months and do not want to be even bigger than I am now (just reached the heaviest I have ever been (16st, was really stick thin until the age of 25). At the moment I do not know if I should just learn to like myself the way I am am or try yet another thing. I will just carry on lurking for a bit but thank you very much for the nudge!

BsshBossh Fri 21-Jun-13 20:49:24

Bump

jetstar Sun 23-Jun-13 09:08:15

bump

BetsyBell Sun 23-Jun-13 17:02:08

.

cerealqueen Sun 23-Jun-13 23:34:19

bump

BetsyBell Mon 24-Jun-13 17:21:37

Beep

BsshBossh Wed 26-Jun-13 12:42:00

bump

frenchfancy Sat 29-Jun-13 06:33:48

bump

lauren6283 Sat 29-Jun-13 19:53:14

I'm guessing this isn't recommended during pregnancy?

frenchfancy Mon 01-Jul-13 12:47:19

...

BetsyBell Thu 04-Jul-13 20:59:50

.

Talkinpeace Sun 07-Jul-13 18:51:59

Bazinga

HellesBelles396 Tue 09-Jul-13 20:13:15

Bump

cerealqueen Sat 13-Jul-13 09:05:06

bump

BetsyBell Sun 14-Jul-13 21:24:57

bump

TigerSwallowTail Wed 17-Jul-13 00:36:05

Bump.

RufflingFeathers Wed 17-Jul-13 19:29:31

bumpity

Laska42 Wed 24-Jul-13 20:17:05

bump

BetsyBell Thu 25-Jul-13 12:17:38

bump

Grat thread, will direct more people here for info.

Up we go...

worldcitizen Fri 26-Jul-13 13:24:11

Thanks for al the help and all the info.....I've started June 1st and have successfully lost 8 kg so far and 8 cm around hip, waist and chest...

I also have started going to Pilates once a week, been to 6 classes so far

And have completed gone off refined sugar :-)

Thanks again thanks

Oh, I fast once or sometimes twice a week.

ValiumQueen Wed 31-Jul-13 18:27:35

Hmm. Interesting. Bump grin

BsshBossh Thu 01-Aug-13 10:54:59

Bump

InVeryveryBadTaste Wed 07-Aug-13 18:07:43

just starting - fingers crossed.
bump

Mumrose Thu 08-Aug-13 01:39:33

Starting today. A whole lot of weight to lose. It's depressing shopping for size 22 clothing and not wanting to look in the mirrorsad

frenchfancy Mon 12-Aug-13 05:56:16

bump

Bumping for newcomers

Bumping for the newbies

BetsyBell Fri 23-Aug-13 10:04:29

Bump

shelleee Fri 30-Aug-13 22:13:35

Bump

BetsyBell Tue 10-Sep-13 08:38:24

bump

BetsyBell Thu 19-Sep-13 08:12:23

.

Friday bump!

WilsonFrickett Mon 23-Sep-13 11:55:10

Bump - super useful intro thanks First fast today!

colafrosties Thu 26-Sep-13 22:43:13

Bumpety bump

RippingYarns Fri 27-Sep-13 11:02:50

Bump

Thanks for this, it really help keeping me on track having a reference to all the science behind it in one place

Helpful stuff for newbies.

Friday bump...

BsshBossh Wed 23-Oct-13 14:12:41

Bump

whyno Fri 25-Oct-13 07:41:00

Bump

New week!

Beccagain Wed 06-Nov-13 13:35:47

Am celebrating my first day on the 5:2 by bumping!

1974rach Mon 11-Nov-13 10:40:14

bump

I've sent a few people over here, so I'm bumping it up for ease of finding.

BetsyBell Wed 13-Nov-13 11:26:54

bump

Bump for the weekend....

Breadandwine Tue 19-Nov-13 21:02:25

Thread number 31 has just opened:

www.mumsnet.com/Talk/fasting_diet/1915867-The-5-2-thread-number-31-Getting-healthier-one-day-at-a-time

Thanks to BetsyBell for this!

If you're wondering if this way of life is for you, you should first have a look at these inspirational posts on here, then jump in - because it will work for you!

This WOL does not only help you to lose weight - if you check out all the links in the OP of the main thread and decide you'd like to follow an intermittent fasting programme for the health benefits alone, then join us over here on the maintainer's thread.

Wherever you decide to join us, you'll find us a very friendly bunch!

New week, new fasters!

New main 5:2 thread:

http://www.mumsnet.com/Talk/fasting_diet/1930041-The-5-2-thread-number-32-We-can-eat-it-tomorrow-toffees-toffee-sponge-or-even-toffee-sausages

Come and join in!

Time for a bump to the top!

Bump

Blaaahdeblahdeblah Mon 23-Dec-13 08:04:40

Bump

notsoold Fri 27-Dec-13 02:51:23

Bump

.

BsshBossh Sat 28-Dec-13 21:27:22

Bump

frenchfancy Mon 30-Dec-13 11:12:05

Bump

frenchfancy Thu 02-Jan-14 09:07:34

bump

LuvMyBoyz Fri 03-Jan-14 06:23:16

Thank you for the comprehensive introduction.

BerryBlast Fri 03-Jan-14 23:25:18

bump

colafrosties Mon 06-Jan-14 21:31:19

Bump again

frenchfancy Tue 07-Jan-14 06:27:59

Bump

frenchfancy Sun 12-Jan-14 13:19:45

Bump

BetsyBell Wed 22-Jan-14 16:29:48
frenchfancy Tue 28-Jan-14 07:10:31

Bump

Up we go!

BetsyBell Thu 13-Feb-14 08:42:22

Bump for thread 39

Bump for a new week!

Pushing this up since there are a few newbies around!

mrspremise Fri 28-Feb-14 10:15:37

bump

bump

bump

MetellaEstMater Fri 21-Mar-14 19:31:49

Bump

EmGee Sun 23-Mar-14 20:51:22

bump

BetsyBell Wed 26-Mar-14 16:57:49

You can eat cake tomorrow.

MetellaEstMater Tue 01-Apr-14 16:30:35

⬆️

dinkystinky Mon 14-Apr-14 10:08:06

bump

MetellaEstMater Fri 18-Apr-14 13:51:26

tbusmile

BetsyBell Thu 24-Apr-14 21:08:52
Mondayschild78 Sat 03-May-14 04:51:54

Bumping for you... Was here on the original thread in Aug 2012 but have had DC2 since so not been fasting. Looking forward to getting back on the wagon (been reading the breastfeeding thread on here with interest).

MetellaEstMater Mon 05-May-14 03:48:44

..

MetellaEstMater Mon 05-May-14 03:49:09

...

VanGogh Wed 14-May-14 23:18:33

Bump!
I'm inspired.
I'm totally giving this a crack!

MetellaEstMater Sat 17-May-14 19:15:34

cake or not...

TwoNoisyBoys Tue 20-May-14 21:35:50

Can I jump on this thread please? Really keen to start 5:2 but literally don't know where to begin!

TwoNoisyBoys Tue 20-May-14 21:35:59

Can I jump on this thread please? Really keen to start 5:2 but literally don't know where to begin!

TwoNoisyBoys Tue 20-May-14 21:36:15

Can I jump on this thread please? Really keen to start 5:2 but literally don't know where to begin!

TwoNoisyBoys Tue 20-May-14 21:36:20

Can I jump on this thread please? Really keen to start 5:2 but literally don't know where to begin!

Friday bump...

tennis

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now