Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

mirena coil

(8 Posts)
Docbrock Sat 23-Mar-13 13:59:38

Hi, don't be terrified....
I had mine put in 3 years ago, I have never had a baby so , yes it was painful going in and for a day or two after (like a strong period pain), you may need to take paracetamol and ibuprofen for a couple of days, but its fantastic!
Be warned you may bleed - spotting on and off for up to 6 months (I am a doctor as well and I always warn patients of this) but then it settles down and I have no periods at all. No weight gain or other symptoms because Miranda contains hormones which act locally on the endometrium rather than throughout the body like pills.
The Mirena coil works for 9/10 women and it works well. For some reason 1/10 women it just doesn't suit. This may account for some of the bad experiences.
In terms of them getting lost, I was advised to check the strings regularly (the same advice which i also give patients) which is fairly easy to do. If you don't feel them then the gp can check it out for you and sort it out.

I think if you go into it with all the knowledge about what to expect pain/bleeding wise you will have a better experience.
I would definitely recommend it for long acting reversible contraception or even for heavy periods.

Good luck smile

Sophiathesnowfairy Wed 20-Mar-13 21:41:04

I hate mine. I had it put in in jan and haven't stopped bleeding since. I am cross with the GP forcing me down this route when I said I didn't want artificial hormones. I wanted to be sterilise.

Anoushka2013 Tue 19-Mar-13 22:30:36

Hello, I have put on Mirena Coil 2 month ego and put on 4 kg! whilst exercising and on the a healthy diet. My doctor told me that my putting on weight has nothing to do with the coil. Have you to put on weight on the Mirena? I dont want to take it out if it has nothing to do with the weight.
Thank you