pre-Primary ballet exam

(7 Posts)
Angad Sat 02-Feb-13 17:29:00

Maybe you can answer some of my questions. What age are they put in for their pre primary test? Are they entered on ability or age? My daughter has been going since may last year, she is 4 (5 in July). Some have been entered, some haven't-y daughter hasnt. Most of the ones entered are older than my daughter and have been going longer but I think that several who she is friends with will now be moving up a class which is a shame. What normally happens? What are decisions based on?
Thanks xxx

gigglewitch Sat 15-Nov-08 23:41:51

how about having a look here at the RAD website
pretty good explanation of what goes on.
(I'm a dance teacher btw) wink

mimsum Sat 15-Nov-08 23:32:22

my dd did a cechetti (sp?) primary 1 ballet exam last summer at the age of 5 - somehow she's ended up in a class of children who are predominantly a year older ...

they did it in groups of 4, with the teacher there who could tell them what they were going to do next but couldn't correct individuals

I was quite worried about it as I didn't want dd's first experience of an exam to be a negative one, however she really wanted to do it, wasn't nervous at all

the ballet teacher assured me that no-one could fail at this level - and dd ended up with a B which she was delighted with

cazzybabs Fri 14-Nov-08 22:36:03

ditto jenkel and also with the character shoes

goldilocksandmylittlebear Fri 14-Nov-08 22:35:53

The RAD Primary Ballet exams are for 6 years and over only x

jenkel Fri 14-Nov-08 22:34:51

My dd done it in July, she is also the youngest in the class and I was really worried about her doing but the ballet teacher really encouraged her to give it a go. And I have to say, it was a lovely experience for her.