Should she be making more progress ?

(14 Posts)
Didiplanthis Sun 30-Oct-16 21:39:40

My dd is just 7. Has been learning violin for 1 year. She enjoys it and never has to be pressured to practice - does it daily but only about 10 mins max. She is doing OK but doesn't seem to be progressing much. She has to learn in school as there is no way to fit it in out of school so she only has a 20 min lesson although is on individual ones and can't consider change of teacher - she really likes her anyway. Do I just relax and go with the flow so long as she is enjoying it ? When do you think about msybe a different instrument instead - she has some processing problems ( dyslexia ) so not sure violin with all its multi tasking aspects is the easiest for her. It is costing an awful lot if money that I will happily find but it isn't easy.

Atenco Sun 30-Oct-16 21:56:38

I'm not a musician but used to play the guitar for fun and I cannot see how you can make much progress with an instrument only playing it for ten minutes a day. But hopefully someone better informed than I am will come along.

gillybeanz Sun 30-Oct-16 22:02:23

I think she maybe needs more practice, usually about 20 mins is recommended for beginners at this age, iirc.
Does she practise how and what her teacher instructs and do you monitor this.
Sometimes, they need a gentle reminder to stay focussed and then play around with the instrument at the end.

Didiplanthis Sun 30-Oct-16 22:04:52

Yes - I queried this with her teacher who said that she is far better doing 10 mins everyday than longer less frequently and physically it would be hard for her to maintain a decent position for much longer at her age ( she was only 7 this week and is fairly small for her age ).

Didiplanthis Sun 30-Oct-16 22:09:13