Cheap and cheerful Chinese violins

(15 Posts)
DrSeuss Mon 10-Oct-16 20:22:02

Please can anyone tell me if the cheapish Chinese violins on ebay are actually any good? I have no experience of this but need to get a one eighth size violin for my daughter. We are currently hiring one from the school but at under fifty quid, these would soon pay for themselves. Someone told me once that all beginner violins are a bit screechy but the sound is worse still on a cheap instrument. Is this true? She has her heart set on a pink one!
Thanks

doodlejump1980 Mon 10-Oct-16 20:32:05

Oh god please don't get a coloured one. The are crap instruments under a thick layer of paint (not a coloured proper varnish) which strangles the already crappy sound. They are not worth the money and stand out like a sore thumb in an orchestra setting.
Most music shops you'll be able to get into a chain of buying one then trading it in as they grow and need a bigger size.

treaclesoda Mon 10-Oct-16 20:37:34

Leaving aside how screechy they sound, one of the big problems with very cheap violins is that they are ridiculously difficult to tune. The pegs quite often don't fit the holes snugly enough and they just constantly slip.

MiddleAgeMiddleEngland Mon 10-Oct-16 20:54:01

It would be better not to learn at all than to learn on one of those. I firmly believe that all children learning an instrument should be able to use the best available according to family or school finances. Why have what looks and sounds like a cheap toy?

It is not true that all beginner violins are screechy. Beginner violinists are often screechy but that is a totally different matter.

DrSeuss Mon 10-Oct-16 20:58:20

Thanks for the advice. Is Stentor an OK brand if I just get a plain one? Although, given that she's only five, the orchestra might be a while away yet!

nonicknameseemsavailable Mon 10-Oct-16 21:19:55