New runner!!

(8 Posts)
Onthedowns Thu 05-May-16 17:18:42

Just had my second baby 9 weeks and starting spinning before I became pregnant! But would like to take up running I am 2 stone overweight with s large bust but have good supportive bra and my weight is relative to my height if that makes sense! What is achievable to start with? Couch to 5k? I want to aim for a half marathon or do you think a 10k is more achievable ?

startingtolooklikemother Thu 05-May-16 17:26:55

Hiya, I'm also brand new to running. Have just downloaded the couch to 5k and done 3 runs. I must look a sight with arms and legs everywhere and s bright red face but I'm doing it!!!! I don't really know what to wear, I've got a good sports bra (massive boobs and it looks like a hammock) and found some trainers but be interested to get some advice. Do you fancy a running buddy?

Onthedowns Thu 05-May-16 20:05:22

That sounds great! I am hoping to start in a couple of weeks once my son is more settled! Where are you?

MrsMook Thu 05-May-16 21:27:40

I did C25k when I was reclaiming my fitness and waist back from my second pregnancy. I started when baby was about 7 months and I'd finally stopped limping from the SPD!

It worked.grin

The good thing about running is that if all else fails, you can take the pram!

Runningupthathill82 Fri 06-May-16 06:59:20

Book in an autumn 10k - that's more than a doable distance in the next 4 months or so. Then if that goes well you can do a half next spring (ie a year from now).
The c25k programme is a good start, but you can also get 10k walk/run programmes that are equally beginner friendly.

Onthedowns Fri 06-May-16 17:27:35

Thanks! We have a half marathon in Feb next year here?

AyeAmarok Fri 06-May-16 17:46:41

That's plenty of time to do a half marathon OP, good idea smile

And it will be a nice time of year to do it as it won't be too warm!