Kettlebells question

(10 Posts)
ludovica Tue 26-May-15 18:35:56

I am thinking of trying a kettlebells dvd but I don't know what weight to start with. What would be a reasonable weight for a total beginner? The only weights I currently use are 2kg dumbells. I can't get to a class so I am a bit clueless.

NotReallyAPrincess Tue 26-May-15 18:38:37

The lowest my gym has is 4kg. You might be able to swing a 6kg or 8kg - the momentum of swinging carries the weight a bit so you can go a bit heavier.

I love kettlebells grin

ludovica Tue 26-May-15 19:40:21

Thanks. Everybody seems to rave about them which is why I want to try them! 6 or 8kg sound a bit terrifying to me. Is it easy to get the hang of?

ludovica Thu 28-May-15 12:57:50

I have ordered an 8kg one!

ProfYaffle Thu 28-May-15 13:01:21

8kg is massive! I've got a set of 4, 6 and 8 kg, I mainly use the 4kg with the odd bit of 6kg thrown in. The 8kg is gathering dust upstairs!

I can recommend Paul Katami DVDs by the way.

ludovica Thu 28-May-15 13:49:27

Agh! I watched some youtube videos and last night I was trying out some of the moves with a 4.5kg dumbell which I found quite easy (apart from not being able to hold onto it very easily) so I thought I should try something bigger. I don't know if I will be waving the 8kg one above my head to begin with.

I did look at the sets but they were mainly vinyl and I wanted cast iron as my dumbells are vinyl and they are huge. Maybe I should order a smaller one too.

It was the Paul Katami DVD I was looking at buying - thanks!

ProfYaffle Thu 28-May-15 14:48:04

I've got cast iron too. I find that using a heavy weight for one exercise is one thing but using it over a whole workout is too much. Using the 6kg weight throws my form out and I end up using my back etc which risks injury.