Do I want a Kobo?

(18 Posts)
TheGirlOnTheLanding Fri 03-Jan-14 19:51:32

Can you convince me or talk me out of it?

I've so far resisted getting an ereader as I like print books, but everyone that has one tells me they're converts and I do have a space issue - I can't fit any more physical books on my shelves and there are a couple of crates more in the attic that I can't quite bring myself to take to the charity shop. So ebooks are looking more practical.

And WH Smith has reduced the kobo touch to £30 again.

But on the other hand, I live the look, feel and smell of real books. And I tend to buy secondhand rather than new books.

I'm dithering. Help me decide?

TheRobberBride Fri 03-Jan-14 20:56:35

I love books. I used to work as an historian so accumulated literally hundreds. I can still spend many a happy hour in second hand bookshops.

BUT I also love my kindle. I love that it's portable and that I can download classics for free. I like being able totake all my favourite books on holiday with me without investing in an additional wheelie suitcase!

Loving books and owning an e reader are not mutually exclusive IMO.

It sounds like a great deal on the Kobo. I'd go for it.

BertieBowtiesAreCool Fri 03-Jan-14 21:01:39

No you don't. They are awful. The selection of books is dire - there's a reason they're cheap! Get a kindle or stick with paper books. I use a kindle app on my phone.

TheRobberBride Fri 03-Jan-14 21:08:02

Good point Bertie. Having owned both a Nook and a Kindle, I much prefer the Kindle even though the technology on the Nook is arguably better. Other e readers just don't have the same selection of books.

DuchessofMalfi Fri 03-Jan-14 22:05:49