Which kindle? Complete beginner...

(10 Posts)
funchick Wed 19-Sep-12 18:55:37

Just bought a Kindle Touch.
It takes a bit of getting used to - the manual is not great.
Now though I like it, very easy on the eyes and the optional cover with a light on top is handy.
I've also seen some good looking Kobos around which are worth considering.
I would be careful though in choosing between tablet and e-ink (black / white)
screens.

With either option you can change font sizes and download direct to the e-book or from your PC.

kuros Wed 05-Sep-12 19:40:05

Which kindle or which e-reader?

If you just plan to buy books from Amazon a touch kindle.

If lending e-books from your local library is important to you a kindle is no good. You need another brand - Kobo is good and well priced, also the Sony e-reader. The kobo shop is much better than the Sony shop but if you buy a Sony you can also use the Kobo shop.

My library also seems to have a large number of "sample" books - you can read and keep the first chapter(s) of books. Great for browsing.

I haven´t bought any books for my e-reader yet - still working at all the classics free of charge and using the library : )

Being able to increase the font size is brilliant for older people - new style large print books ; ) I´m hoping to convert my mum!

I´m very pleased I forked out for the integrated light.

E-readers are great! I´m a convert!

sashh Sun 02-Sep-12 07:43:44

I have the one with a keyboard, I love it.

tiggy114 Fri 31-Aug-12 23:38:47

Just to add, i love mine with the keyboard. If you do wanna use it to annotate books and add notes for study purposes, the keyboard is great. It also makes surfing the kindle store really easy. I havn't tried the touch but i love my keyboard version.

puggirl Fri 31-Aug-12 22:52:52

Thank you all. Off to peruse amazon wink

AmaraDresden Fri 31-Aug-12 08:07:22