Boss asking me to do something I'm not comfortable with

(32 Posts)
livvylongpants Wed 03-Aug-16 18:34:41

I'm a bookkeeper, long story short is that the company has 2 directors (husband and wife ) they are separating and heading down the divorce route.

Husband director runs the company, wife is never there however is on the paperwork,, he has asked me to start doing various things which will reduce the companies profit, non illegal, but it does feel immoral,

They have kids and have been married a long time and I don't feel comfortable with reducing the marital assets so that he can get away with giving his wife less than she's entitled too!

Wwyd? I feel like I have no choice as it's my job and none of my business but I feel so wrong about it!

GettingScaredNow Wed 03-Aug-16 18:36:19

Nope. You can get another job if he fired you.
But I wouldn't do it.

GettingScaredNow Wed 03-Aug-16 18:37:03

Nope. You can get another job if he fired you.
But I wouldn't do it.

QuackDuckQuack Wed 03-Aug-16 18:53:20

Without knowing the details, it's hard to say. But my initial reaction is absolutely don't do it.

livvylongpants Wed 03-Aug-16 19:14:59

That's the thing, finding another job that's as flexible (I have 3 under 5) and pays as well as this is hard to find! The amounts we are talking are pretty big, I think the marital assists are a few million,

Don't want to divulge anymore as may be identifying

tribpot Wed 03-Aug-16 19:21:50

Is it something where you could say you want the written consent of both directors before you do it? Ultimately I guess it isn't your job to make moral judgement on how the firm disposes of its assets, provided it stays within the law - so for example if it acquired shares in an arms company you might feel morally conflicted by that, but your job is to execute the instructions of the directors.