Becoming a midwife

(9 Posts)
flipflopson5thavenue Fri 22-Jul-16 12:58:59

Not sure where to post this...

I've been thinking on and off for a number of years that id like to become a midwife.

Reasons to want it are helping women, having a clear profession/job, possibly being able to work elsewhere, and, well, newborns smile

My closest friend is a midwife, she retrained in her thirties and says she wishes she'd done it years ago, she loves it.

She says it's an extremely rewarding job but also relentlessly busy and she often feels dangerously underresourced, and the paperwork is a killer. She's an NHS midwife in Scotland.

I don't have a medical or similar background so it would be a case of starting from scratch with an undergraduate course. I currently work full time in the NGO/charity sector and have a 4yo who starts school in a few weeks and a 20mo.

If I did it it would be at a London university as that's where I live.

Anyway, just after any comments or info from anyone who is a midwife or become one as a mature student or any words of wisdom...???

Thanks

RNBrie Fri 22-Jul-16 20:10:33

Bumping for you OP... Keen to see what responses you get!

Dozer Fri 22-Jul-16 20:11:32

Can you afford the training, childcare etc? It's not especially well paid at the end of the training.

pegomassive1 Fri 22-Jul-16 20:16:42

My mum was one...
Long hours/nightshifts
Worked many many Christmases when I was a child. She qualified when I was a toddler and they do tend to give the undesirable shifts to the newbies and unfortunately that means me and dad having pretty boring Christmases for quite a few years. My dm has never actually told me anything she LIKED about being a mw. Just told me the things that put me off following her into it.... which I seriously considered at one point. She told me she would support and help me should I do it but she would rather I get a job in an office and spend nights and holidays with my babies.