Equal pay claim

(3 Posts)
CrystalSkull Wed 09-Mar-16 22:42:10

Has anybody ever made, or otherwise had experience of, an equal pay claim? I might go down this route after I have exhausted all other channels, but I am finding the decision difficult and I feel very alone. It would be good to hear from anyone else who has experience of this.

jclm Thu 10-Mar-16 20:38:10

i have no knowledge or experience of this, but you should go for it! could you say a bit more about your situation. hopefully someone with knowledge of HR and employment law will come along soon...

EBearhug Fri 11-Mar-16 00:50:14

I haven't done it. I have definitely thought about it. The first time was about 15 years ago, and I raised it with my manager. The response I got was, "Discussing pay is a sackable offence," so I didn't know what else to do. I was only in my 20s then, and I'm more knowledgeable and bolshy these days, and would have challenged it more. (I was right to have raised it; a couple of years later when HR did a pay audit on the department, I got a 26% payrise.)

I also considered it a few years ago in my current job. I raised that with my manager on the back of having had a job offer at a rather higher salary (for a job I wasn't that keen on,) and for a couple of years, I was getting higher percentage rises and more frequently than was normal. I am currently considering discreetly asking a colleague if he will tell me what he's on, because a comment at this year's annual review has made me suspect that I am still not level.