Subtle Workplace Bullying

(2 Posts)
Saaraa19 Fri 25-Sep-15 23:07:02

I have been working one day a week as an admin assistant for two years in a place where the administrator wanted to work only four days. It is my first job since taking time out to have children after working over 20 years. I cover the one day so there is no face to face contact with the administrator. It is proving very, very difficult as time goes on - partly due to not having the continuity of a full working week. The other difficulty which is far greater is that it appears that the person does not want me working there.

As time has progressed it feels like I am being micro managed. Yes, there are a couple of times where I have done tasks wrong, have been told of it and have put in place measures so that it does not happen again. I am very happy to receive positive criticism but there is a constant drip effect - I have been told not to touch anything in the office or change anything on the virtual desktop, like filing. I have carried out jobs to discover that they have been redone with no reasons given to whether I had done something wrong or not. I am not told about events that are happening or have happened so am often caught out. I am given jobs where it is not clear what is to be carried out and how. When I have asked what the procedure is I do not receive an answer. I try to use my initiative but am becoming increasingly fearful that it will be wrong or not done in the way that the administrator requires. I have received information in a damming manner which has left me wondering what I had done wrong and why I wasn't informed before; only to find out that the administrator had mishandled something and offloaded to me. As time progresses I dread going into work because there is always something that is commented on negatively in the written handover, which is our main form of communication. I find the administrator unapproachable the whole experience is beginning to feel really poisonous.