Taking example of work to interview

(5 Posts)
YellowPirate Sat 16-May-15 21:47:29

I'm just after some advice. I have an interview next week and have been asked to bring along a recent example of a particular kind of work. The problem is I haven't got one! I have an example from a few years ago, but my current job is managerial so I don't do this particular kind of work (although I could if you see what I mean, it's part of my role, but in practice it's something I would normally delegate).

I can do this work standing on my head, I'm good at it and I have a lot of experience in it. But I'm not sure whether to just take along my last example, and then whether to tell them it's a few years out of date?

I really want this job and met all of the essential criteria, but this has thrown me.

Y

HermioneGrangerHair Sat 16-May-15 22:06:09

Is it something you could "mock up"? I did this in an interview recently and it was very well received. Whether it's a lesson plan, a webpage, a mood board, whatever... You come up with a hypothetical commission that would showcase your skills and your personality. Just be absolutely honest about what it is: don't pretend it's something you had lying around. Or you could use the slightly dated example, but do some kind of extension piece to show how you would refresh it in light of your current perspective.

TheWintersmith Sat 16-May-15 22:21:01

I kind of know where you are coming from on this.

I had something similar last year. I'll change details to protect the guilty but, imagine it was for an architects job which included designing townhouses, I am really experienced at country cottages, and have done the odd townhouse in the past.

I was asked to take a recent townhouse design. I didn't have one. I had loads of recent cottages But only old townhouse design in my portfolio.