Need a full time job - what to retrain as?

(15 Posts)
artyanklet Thu 21-Aug-14 16:18:26

Basically I have 4 years to retrain whilst working part time (25 hrs a week) to get a full time job.

I am mid 40's, 'D'H has just left me after nearly 30 yrs.

I have some qualifications in childcare and have got Maths and English GCSE as I did them at night school. Plus the usual O levels.

I would like to change my direction in life, I honestly can't afford to give work up and study full time but I am prepared to work evenings,weekends and holidays. At present I work in a school as a TA. I don't know where to go or what to look for, one thing I do know is that I do not want to be a teacher!

Any suggestions would be gratefully received!

brokenhearted55a Thu 21-Aug-14 19:54:03

What do you like?

What inspires you?

artyanklet Fri 22-Aug-14 18:56:20

I love making things, cards sewing etc.

I just don't know where to start looking. I know I have a huge amount on my plate at the moment, what with separation, sale of house going through....

I know I have to do something, was hoping a new challenge would be good for me and have something to focus on.

FabULouse Mon 25-Aug-14 09:13:27

How about getting business admin and secretarial skills so that you can go for roles as a PA, secretary or admin assistant in any company that appeals to you, from local council to solicitors to charities.

Heels99 Mon 25-Aug-14 09:15:25

School business manager?

figgypuddings Mon 25-Aug-14 09:15:50

An art therapist?

Gumnast2014 Mon 25-Aug-14 09:18:31

Nurse? Occupational therapist

museumum Mon 25-Aug-14 09:19:02

Four years p/t study is tough - you NEED to choose something you love or are passionate about doing / being in future.
Don't make any snap decisions. Browse the OU website for ideas. Am I right in thinking you have no A levels or degree? If so, OU is a great option. Do you actually enjoy book study? Or do you want something more practical?

artyanklet Mon 25-Aug-14 18:10:44