ZOMBIE THREAD ALERT: This thread hasn't been posted on for a while.

Contractors - Do we have any rights?

(8 Posts)
Migsy1 Sat 16-Aug-14 17:45:39

I suspect not but wondering if anyone else can enlighten me. Along with numerous others, I have been working as a contractor for the Civil Service. Each contract lasts about a week and I have been working 2 weeks per month for them for the last 18 months after having received significant training for the work. We have received an email telling us that, as we operate through a limited company and take payments as dividends, the civil service will not offer us any more contracts as it could be against HM Treasury rules. We have no further information. Do you think I might have any rights or is there a way to defend myself? Thanks for any advice!!!

flowery Sat 16-Aug-14 18:27:07

Sounds like they are concerned you may be seen as employees if this continues.

What rights are you hoping to have? You can't insist they give you more contracts if that's what you mean, unless you have some kind of agreement guaranteeing x amount with no provision for termination?

Hoppinggreen Sat 16-Aug-14 19:45:24

Do you work for anyone else as well?
I am a self employed freelancer and I can avoid what is ( or maybe used to be) called IR35 because I work for several clients. I have recently won a training contract and one of the reasons I got it was that I have other clients so they can genuinely claim I am not employed by them.
I suppose any government department has to be seen as squeaky clean.
As a contractor you don't have any rights I'm afraid.

Migsy1 Sun 17-Aug-14 08:55:45

I have lots of other clients so in my opinion I would satisfy IR35. I'm just wondering what we could do to resolve this issue. I don't think the Gov Department I'm working for quite understands what it is all about.

flowery Sun 17-Aug-14 09:23:13