Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications, experience, or professional insurance of anyone posting on Mumsnet and cannot be held responsible for any advice given on the site. If you have an employment dispute and need professional advice, please contact your union, the Citizen's Advice Bureau or a solicitor.

Going on holiday when signed off sick

(19 Posts)
Sickonholiday Sun 19-Jan-14 21:44:07

Hello. Im a nurse working for the NHS in a physically demanding area and had surgery 6 weeks ago. I'm expected to be off for 12 weeks but my GP has signed me off for a few weeks longer due to other issues- It's been found I need further surgery. I'm unsure as yet whether occ health will let me return to work in between this and my next surgery. I have a holiday booked which has been booked off work since last year prior to the surgery. I wonder what the policy is on going abroad when on sick leave? I feel it looks bad however although I'm unfit for work I would be ok on holiday as actually doing less than at home.

Musicaltheatremum Sun 19-Jan-14 21:48:55

I would have no problem with that. As long as it's not mountain climbing or paragliding then a holiday is relaxing and can be therapeutic.

snowgirl1 Sun 19-Jan-14 21:49:45

Is your GP okay with you travelling? I'd ask him (if you haven't already) and then be totally upfront with work re. the situation, i.e. although you're unfit for work your GP has confirmed that you're okay to travel abroad as you'll be doing less than at home.

Sickonholiday Sun 19-Jan-14 21:52:30

Nope neither. My friends and I all turn 40 within a few weeks of each other and it's a girly beach holiday. They will likely go out at night but as the hotel is all inclusive they've agreed to stay in until 11pm and then head out. I'm planning on going back to my room with my kindle!

WannaSplitAPineapple Sun 19-Jan-14 21:52:59