Friend with depression because of work.

(7 Posts)
mirtzapine Wed 16-Oct-13 13:28:24

Sorry if this is the wrong place to post - I'm new to all this.

I have a friend who has had depression on and off for a while. Recently, last week, he took an accidental overdose - because as he put it "didn't want to think for a while, I just wanted to switch off".

He's signed off work for the rest of this week and I posted his sick note for him last week by registered post - so I trust his employer has it.

This morning at ten to seven his boss rang him, he didn't answer as he's call screening. Except the effect of just hearing his bosses voice has sent him into quite a distressed state. His boss does know that he has been receiving treatment for depression for the last four months.

He's awaiting confirmation of a psychiatric referral. I've spoke to a mental health nurse on his behalf and her advice is for him (among other things) not to quit work - yet.

I'm trying my best to support him, and he's now adamant that he never wants to set foot in "that place" again. I've tried calling the CAB helpline and am going to go and try to see them tomorrow.

I don't want him to make any "rash decisions, as he's not in the right frame of mind" (that's a phrase the mental health nurse used).

Can anyone give me any advice as to what to ask for and how I support him more than just being a shoulder to cry on. I do look in on him from time to time and have found him sitting in front of a clock and recanting how long to go before he has to go back to work.

I'd like to help him detach himself from work as gracefully as possible. So where can I get advice?, what should I be asking for? and how much should I do. An extra piece of information he's a permanent employee with a three month termination period in his contract.

thekingfisher Wed 16-Oct-13 13:42:22