ZOMBIE THREAD ALERT: This thread hasn't been posted on for a while.

Staying at work longer than I want because of sense of loyalty

(4 Posts)
Glamadon Sun 10-Feb-13 13:11:11

Hi everyone, just looking to get some advice from objective perspectives, as I'm really unsure what to do and I don't want to make a decision based on hormones!

I have been working for a very small company for a couple of years now, and due to this, I have formed very close relationships with the couple of other staff members and my boss, which is great and I have really enjoyed my time there. However, it is highly unlikely I will be going back after maternity leave finishes as I dont think they will have a job for me after I leave, and if they do, its highly unlikely it would be for the same money I'm on now. I just can't see how she could afford it when she is having to hire someone new to take my place. Every penny is accounted for in that place! More to the point, I wouldn't be able to afford to go back anyway.

So basically, I have decided that realistically I won't be going, and therefore the next 7 weeks before my maternity leave will by last, and I know deep down my boss knows this as well. Therefore, she is now trying to get me involved in as much as she can before I leave, which I understand. She's paying my wages and wants her moneys worth before I leave. That's business.