They're going to get rid of me, aren't they?

(10 Posts)
Crinkle77 Wed 23-Jan-13 15:35:52

Maybe they don't even know themselves therefore feel unable to give you an answer. I would take this time over the next 12 months to look for something else as Snorbs has suggested.

Snorbs Sun 20-Jan-13 18:26:56

Another thing you can do to take control over the situation is to spend the next 12 months doing is polishing your CV and looking around for other jobs. Would you be penalised if you left your contract early?

nametakenalready Sun 20-Jan-13 18:21:22

Thanks Kato, good to hear I'm not the only one. Unfortunately I have a Phd in over-analysis but I'm trying to keep it cool:-)
You're right Flowery. I'm doing that already. I'm just flopping around in self-pity at the moment, but must pull self out.
Thanks

flowery Fri 18-Jan-13 10:27:39

See it as taking back control. Not feeling in control of your own destiny is a horrible feeling. You are in a situation where there is a possibility that you might be out of a job in a year. Fine.

You can't make that decision because that is outside your control, so you need to think about what you can control. You are not in control of their decisions but you are in control of your own actions and your reactions to their decisions.

So what decisions can you make about your future, what things can you do to either influence that decision, or reduce it's negative impact when it comes?

Then once you've identified those things, and start doing them, you are no longer hanging on every word/email and feeling completely at their mercy, you are in control of your own response, actions and reactions. It feels much better!

KatoPotato Fri 18-Jan-13 10:27:29

I feel for you, it's an uncomfortable situation to be in, and I've been there.

However a year is a long time in any business, and as employees we will never fully know what organisational changes are afoot.

Keep doing your job well and try not to over-analyse!