Flexible working, redundancy, new role - GAH! Help needed please!!

(9 Posts)
OohMrDarcy Wed 19-Dec-12 12:11:10

only differences are the fact they are saying in the job description that it is based at one specific site and office hours (has been pretty flexible in the past)

In good news I have just had a chat again and they seem positive about my suggested compromise so I think they do want to keep me... fingers crossed for end of the week

flowerytaleofNewYork Wed 19-Dec-12 10:03:06

On what basis is it a new role? There is a team of 8 of you doing the work currently, all doing the same job? They are reducing headcount by 2, which is fine, and changing the job title which doesn't mean lot.

How are the actual roles different?

Sounds like a simple reduction in headcount to me, and if you are selected for redundancy because of your working hours they may be on dodgy ground.

OohMrDarcy Wed 19-Dec-12 08:42:45

Hi Bessie

I work in IT .... to be honest it would be unlikely to get flexible working in another role in under 6 months... I would need to 'prove' myself first iyswim

Offering a compromise agreement. 1.5 weeks salary for each years service plus 3 months PILON

I'm not the only one in the situation MML - well kind of... there are two men who are geographically based elsewhere and getting the same about being at this site - they have minimum 3 hrs drive each

MrsMargoLeadbetter Tue 18-Dec-12 21:55:04

I think they'd just argue that it is the business need of these news roles. Hopefully somebody who knows more about HR law will be along. Might be worth checking with the ACAS helpline, just to be doubly sure before your meeting? www.acas.org.uk/index.aspx?articleid=2042

Are you the only one who doesn't work in the office all the time? The only other thing is if this is a senario to get rid of you, the working mother/female?