Can work sideline me just because I'm pregnant?

(5 Posts)
Bringbring Wed 21-Nov-12 17:01:02

I’m a middle manager in a public sector organisation. There are four of us at the same level with small teams and we report into the same manager. I don’t know if what I’m experiencing is discrimination or something for a grievance but I do feel like there is a history of me being treated differently to other staff at the same level of me and that what is happening now is being directly a result of me being pregnant.

In February last year a member of my team left and was not replaced. There was no reorganisation of other staff to cover the post, I covered most of the staff loss myself. The three other managers continued with full staff levels.

In June last year a member of the management team went on maternity leave and was not replaced. I was asked to assume responsibility for her role and staff for an initial period of three weeks. This has now been continuing for nearly five months. There is a vacancy in this team so I am effectively carrying two roles at my level and two vacancies in support. I have been very vocal that this is an unsustainable situation and have received encouragement and recognition that I am doing a good job from both my manager and clients during this time. There have been no discussions about areas in which I am failing.

I am due to leave on my maternity in February. We are restructuring and I have been asked by my clients to stay with my current projects until I commence maternity. I have been given reassurances from our manager that I would be able to do this, however another manager disputes I should be given this role. It looks like I will be moved elsewhere to look after clients in a “holding style” only position (as I will only be here another 12 weeks). I am massively hacked off after at being written off after carrying the department for so long.