Academics - what is a 'normal' teaching load for first year?

(21 Posts)
octopussysfourthleg Thu 27-Sep-12 11:10:16

Hi all! Just wondered if there are any seasoned academics on here who can give me some insight into this thorny topic?

I'm in my first year teaching (social sciences). I was promised a reduced teaching load for the first year in order to keep momentum on research going, and currently have six hours of lectures/seminars plus the PGCHE.

The whole system of work allocation is incredibly confusing but I do think that other more experienced academics appear to have a very similar amount of teaching - certainly not twice as much. Admitttedly some have greater administrative duties, but I still don't feel that I have received a significantly reduced load overall.

Am I just being a bit of a moaner? It's so difficult to work out what's fair, and how the f**k I get any research done this year! And if six hours really does represent 50% it's going to even worse next year. Scream!

Thanks in advance!

rhetorician Thu 27-Sep-12 11:18:03

it varies hugely from place to place and lots of depts would operate a quid pro quo system - e.g. reduced teaching load for administrative responsibilities etc, but normally only to the tune of one or 2 hours per week (unless head of dept etc). Does you dept have a workloads model? If so, you could get some idea from that. I'd say that most places would have contact hours of around 6-10 hours per week, and you have probably been given normal allocation less 2-3 hours. I'm afraid that academia involves very long working hours (not necessarily formally) - 50-60 hours per week is not uncommon. FWIW I am senior, in the humanities and my teaching load is usually about 7-8 hours (lectures, seminars, tutorials) - I am not in the UK however.

rhetorician Thu 27-Sep-12 11:19:22