End of Term Presents for Teachers

(99 Posts)
fms Tue 02-Jul-02 10:05:48

Ds will be finishing his local playgroup next week, and has loved every minute of the last year there.

I'd like to give all the teachers/ helpers a present, but there are 8 of them in all.

Does anyone have any ideas? I don't want to spend more than, say £5 each, but am willing to hear of any ideas that include ds making something.... trouble is, not much time!

Thanks

Fegs Tue 02-Jul-02 10:26:21

As a former junior teacher, I always found receiving gifts a little awkward and never liked the idea of parents spending a lot of money on them. Although it's a little dull, wine, chocolates and flowers usually went down well.
One of the best presents I ever had was a calendar made by a child - he'd made the picture on the top of a sheet of A4 card and a calendar had been stuck on the bottom. I was touched by the effort he'd put in. I have also been delighted to receive simple folders decorated by children in my charge.
Any use?

PamT Tue 02-Jul-02 10:26:58

How about buying some cheap photo frames and decorating them? You can usually slip the glass out to paint the frame, then stick dried flowers or sequins on. Inside the frame you could put a little note saying thank you with DS's signature. If you didn't go over the top with the stick ons they could look quite tasteful. Ikea do some really good plain frames - about £1 for 3 small ones, they also have some lovely postcards to put in the frames.

Alternatively you could buy some plain gift boxes (Ikea do these again), decorate the boxes and fill with sweets. I think the personal touch means so much more to the teachers than the size of the bouquet or box of chocolates. My SIL is a Non Teaching Assistant in a primary school and she came home with enough chocolate and flowers to start a market stall as well as pens, jewellery etc from the children in her class at christmas.