Appeals 2014- Did your DS/DD Not Get Any of Their Secondary School Choices

(79 Posts)
JohFlow Sun 02-Mar-14 04:39:19

Let's share ideas on how to appeal successfully.

Open forum - but no school names/identifiers please.

For parents that are facing this this year - how are you doing? What questions do you have?

Any parents that have been through the process previously are most welcome to share what works.

I put down two schools with a solid reputation and was offered one that is going through special measures with OFSTED and has had to merge with another school to stay open! I knew competition for the first two schools would be tough and we are on the border as far as travelling distance goes. We were prepared to travel for a good education.

I have a strong education philosophy (being a teacher myself) but if I am strictly honest the two schools chosen are personal preference based on quality standards and where I see my son fitting in. Do I need to come up with more water-tight reasons for my appeal paperwork...?

Over to you...

givemeaclue Sun 02-Mar-14 09:18:42

Did you only out 2 schools down? Were you allowed more I.e 3 or 6?

givemeaclue Sun 02-Mar-14 09:19:18

From your post can't see anymore grounds for appeal?

tiggytape Sun 02-Mar-14 09:35:54

There are no set "grounds for appeal" as such. This is a common misconception - that you have to have a special reason to appeal. You don't.

It is true that at Infant School age you are highly unlikely to succeed unless you can prove an error in admissions for example. But that's because the law limits their class sizes to 30. No such limit exists for Year 7 children (or indeed any children from Year 3 upwards). For Year 7 appeals it is a balance of prejudice. The panel hears both cases and decides whose is stronger - the school or the parents'