recommend spanish music

(39 Posts)
pillowcase Sat 26-Jan-13 23:01:12

hi, total beginner Spanish learner here and I'd like to buy some music to listen to Spanish/sing along. Any recommended singers/bands? I tend to like female solo singers but anything remotely modern with lyrics that are clear enough to try to decipher and understand.

AMmyBoys Sat 02-Feb-13 13:02:42

I didn't see anyone suggesting the spanish group Mecano, sorry if somebody did already. I love their stuff, IMO they sing in perfect spanish although sometimes their lyrics are a bit difficult though.

My fab songs by them are: "hijo de la luna", "me cuesta tanto olvidarte" y "el 7 de septiembre"

Good luck!wink

pillowcase Fri 01-Feb-13 12:48:03

ooohhh Chica31 I've just been doing parts of the body on ver-taal, now I need a cold shower!!! http://www.ver-taal.com/voc_cuerpo1.htm grin

Chica31 Thu 31-Jan-13 22:34:10

www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Tzwa5aVD4g

These songs from a group called Canta Juegos are fun for kinds if you want them to join in too.

Also this one is fun, Habia una vez...

www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pucdv5jPWBA

thejoblot Thu 31-Jan-13 21:57:21

If you're wanting to get the kids involved as well try Uno, Dos, Tres, My First Spanish Rhymes by Yanitzia Canetti, book with CD ... otherwise Alejandro Sanz has a wonderful gravelly voice <swoon> who cares what he's singing grin

Chica31 Thu 31-Jan-13 21:46:43

Valencia, where I live, will have Las Fallas soon, 16th to 19th March. The best festival ever!!

Chica31 Thu 31-Jan-13 21:44:33

www.ver-taal.com/

This site is fantastic, there are a few songs to listen to, then exercises to fill in the missing words.

We have listened to a few in our class lately doing some revision on the subjunctivo tense.

A dios le pido by Juanes and Ojala que te vaya bonito by Chavela Vargas.

I go to the state language school in Spain and I have found this site to be excellent.

pillowcase Thu 31-Jan-13 21:29:55