Notts schools

(12 Posts)
mollysmum82 Thu 20-Dec-12 22:39:46

Hiya, we're about to choose our primary school for dd but we're not from the area. A lot of people have told me the secondary schools in Nottingham are dire so it's best to choose primaries 'from the top down'. Can anyone recommend any secondaries in Nottingham? We're in Basford but don't mind travelling (if we can get a place). We couldn't afford to move now and it would be nice if the secondary was attached to the primary for friendship reasons. I'm catholic and dh is cofe so we have the faith school option. Any help would be really appreciated!

Hello,

I am no expert but I have not heard that the Notts schools are dire! I live in Colwick and DD is in the catchment for Carlton Le Willows (Gedling) which is a good school (DD is only starting primary next year though so a long way off yet!)

I used to live in Bobbersmill which is near to Basford - I think the Blue Coat School is a good school - it's in Aspley which isn;t far.

Another catholic secondary is Christ the King in Arnold.

My friend went to The Trinity School which is also in Aspley and is a catholic secondary school - I believe it is also a good school.

I believe that Arnold Hill is a good secondary too.

Apart from the two Bridgford Schools - West Bridgford High and Rushcliffe, I don't really know any others.

Sorry, not sure which primary schools link into the above though but their websites will probably tell you.

Hope you get it sorted - it's hard not being from the area - I am not either, I'm Scottish so just going by what friends have told me!

adeucalione Fri 21-Dec-12 09:07:23

Have a look at the government's performance tables - Nottingham schools do perform below the national average, but there are still some that perform well.

adeucalione Fri 21-Dec-12 09:11:49

Ofsted reports - search by distance from your home, then sift through the ones listed to find a good'un.

LaQueen Fri 21-Dec-12 22:29:58