This topic is for users to discuss eBay, not for advertising eBay items. If you are a small business you can advertise here

Is it worth it?

(10 Posts)
cheeseandchive Fri 22-Feb-13 17:34:35

ebay virgin here...

Have got a big bin-bag full of clothes, mostly high street with a few designer bits (diesel jeans etc) all in pretty good condition - keen to make a little bit of money for my holiday this year

I know it all depends on the quality of what you're selling and whether people want it, but I'm just wondering whether it's worth ebaying it. I'm not very technical so would need to read up/negotiate pay-pal etc which I'm happy to do if it's worth doing.

So, have you found ebaying stuff worthwhile? Or more hassle than it's worth?

whatyoulookinat Fri 22-Feb-13 17:37:37

Yes it is worth it especially for branded/ designer clothes. As long as you make sure you charge the correct p&p you can't loose.

lulu2 Fri 22-Feb-13 17:39:01

It used to be worthwhile a couple of years ago but now I don't bother anymore. Clothes alway sell for below their value and if you put a higher starting bid they don't sell.
More hassle than its worth.

whatyoulookinat Fri 22-Feb-13 18:55:32

lulu really? I've recently sold some of my Dps used clothes & got half the original cost back. £90 for used boots, £80 for a coat.Sometimes im a bit disappointed but like you say if you put a high deserve no one bids. I sell alot of kids stuff too, sometimes getting more than I've bought it for in the sale.
Well worth it imo.

cheeseandchive Sat 23-Feb-13 23:04:40

Good to hear different opinions - thank you!

I think I'll give it a go and just keep it simple, do things one by one and learn as I go along!

Tryharder Sun 24-Feb-13 08:47:05

Ebay is weird. You can get good money for something one day, the next day the same item will sell for 99p or not sell at all.