A few questions

(10 Posts)
Specialsnowflake1 Thu 17-Mar-16 13:12:30

I already have a DC,my DP has three DC and we would like to have another. He chose to have the snip and doesn't want to have it reversed and is more than happy for me to use a donor but I have a few questions.

1) Do you need to take fertility drugs? My period is regular and I don't think I would have any issues conceiving (touch wood)
2) Do you need to go to a fertility clinic?
3) We are more than happy to pay but if their health criteria that you have to fit like IVF?

TA

alockie Thu 17-Mar-16 17:04:32

Hi, sorry I have no direct experiences with de, but could recommend looking at eggdonationfriends com, a site dedicated to de with tons of info. Hope this helps. Good luck

Specialsnowflake1 Fri 18-Mar-16 07:41:43

Brilliant I will have a look.

Mumoftwinsandanother Mon 28-Mar-16 21:38:17

1) no not if you do a natural cycle IUI;
2) No - but you do if you want the child to be legally your DPs and you want to be safe from STIs (suspect there are thousand other reasons why this is sensible too)
3) Don't think we were under any obligs for health criteria at all - my BMI was ok though and I don't smoke and I guess they might have suggested losing/gaining weight and stopping smoking. That said the only reason they do this is to improve your chances (possibly alos to improve their success stats depending upon what type of clinic you go to.
HTH

Specialsnowflake1 Mon 28-Mar-16 22:23:57

Thanks for this information.

LauraMipsum Wed 30-Mar-16 21:13:24

1) No, not unless you've got fertility problems
2) Not necessarily, there are lots of introduction sites like PrideAngel where you can find a private donor, lots of common sense needed to weed out weirdos though and they're mostly aimed at lesbian couples
3) If you use a clinic you have to have a BMI below 35, and provide evidence that you don't have HIV and are immune to rubella and some other stuff.