do I have to give custody?

(11 Posts)
riverreggie Thu 03-Nov-16 10:42:54

Is it possible to refuse custody to an ex on the basis of their drinking?

I am not separated yet but it is on the cards and my DP drinks very heavily. I don't want my DC staying there. I have been keeping a record of the drinking, for about 4 months and it is 4-6 nights per week, between 15 and 25 units per night. The drinking has even occurred on nights when we agreed they would do the caretaking of DC and I have ended up doing it instead.

Day visits are awkward because if we split I'd move back to my family, 300 miles away, so having non-overnight contact would be difficult. DC is only 2 so it's not like they can look after themselves when DP is drunk/hungover - not that that would make it okay.

Fourormore Thu 03-Nov-16 11:39:50

If there's no court order you can essentially do what you like.

If your partner took you to court, you would need to prove that the children would be at significant risk in his care.
You also might want to take legal advice about moving the child so far away. You may end up having to agree to overnights and facilitating all of the travel (and paying for it).

riverreggie Thu 03-Nov-16 12:34:01

It was my DP's suggestion to move back if we split. I have no family here, few friends and no job. I have written evidence of that and I doubt my partner would stop me.

Fourormore Thu 03-Nov-16 12:43:30

What is his suggestion for him to see your child?

riverreggie Thu 03-Nov-16 13:19:25

We didn't talk about it because before we could discuss it any further, we made up. But things aren't going well and I want to know what will be expected if we do split.

I don't want my child consigned to a childhood of trekking across the country once or twice a month, interrupting their new life, for someone who likely isn't going to provide a nice environment for them to visit in.

Fourormore Thu 03-Nov-16 13:28:05