initial separation money/tenancy situation

(12 Posts)
sigmaFTlabarinth Tue 07-Jun-16 00:19:49

DW and I don't work, she has an alcohol and money problems (pdl debt overspending) I have an anger problem.

DW is a SAHM I work we have two DDs 10&7. The tendency is just in my name (dickhead letting agent, not listening). If I move out into a room and pay water/electric/council tax/rent what else should I do? the children need stuff and I need cash to move away from DW.

What would be a fair, amenable and decent thing to do regarding money. I'll be going NC with DW because... issues. So any suggestions as I've never done this before and yes lawyers will become involved at some point.

wheresthel1ght Tue 07-Jun-16 19:38:39

I don't think she can stay in the house if the tenancy is only in your name. You would need to get your landlord to amend the agreement to either add her name and make it joint or terminate your agreement and start a new one with her.

As for everything money wise I would look at the csa calculator at what you should pay based on your earnings and nights your girls are with you. Work out how much of that you are giving her as rent/bills and anything over that give her as a bank transfer. If it comes out to more than csa the. You need to assess how much you can afford to give her. However she will be entitled to housing benefits, child tax credit and child benefit so that might need to be taken into account in your calculations regarding how much you give her for rent and bills.

sigmaFTlabarinth Tue 07-Jun-16 19:54:17

thank you I just did the calculator and £176 per week seems a bit low. I guess the easiest thing would be to sort out swapping the tenency to her.

wheresthel1ght Tue 07-Jun-16 19:58:11

£176 a week is quite high ime so you must be a high earner so if you am afford to give her more then do although if her alcohol and money issues are severe you might be better suggesting you keep the house and girls and help her find somewhere else?