Seraration and benefits

(10 Posts)
mjmo0oseface Tue 19-Jan-16 11:28:38

Not sure if this is the right/best place to post this but hoping for some advice, please!

Dh and I have made the decision to split. I won't go into the reasons but we both agreed it was the right thing to do. We have been married for just over 4 years and have a 3 year old son. It is an amicable split and whilst DS will live with me, he will spend weekends and a day in the week with his dad, as well as any other time Dh wants to see him. Dh is nearly 29, I am nearly 24.

We rent a council flat and receive some housing benefit. Dh works 24 hours a week on minimum wage. We get child benefit, child tax credits and working tax credits including help with childcare.

I am studying and on placement to get a qualification that will lead to a job. I am also carer of my DS who has autism and receives the hight rates of DLA.I have started looking for paid jobs now, too.

Dh also has his own mental health issues and has applied for PIP but is waiting for a decision back on that.

Will he be able to stay in the 2 bedroom flat and be entitled to housing benefit? Will he have to pay the bedroom tax or not as he has regular access to his son who will be staying over half the week?

What happens with tax credits when you split?

Will I get housing benefit if I am under 25?

Because of Dh's mental health, I have promised to help sort out all of his finances and benefits etc because he cannot do it himself or fill out the forms. I know it will be best to speak to the council etc and I will do but was hoping for some advice to see how we will both fare financially on splitting.

Thanks for reading!

DeoGratias Tue 19-Jan-16 19:10:48