Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help with medical problems. If you have any serious concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Extremely short 8 year old who was a 24 weeker, is growth hormone an option?

(5 Posts)
mumtopremie Wed 15-Aug-12 04:53:44

Hi everyone,

I'm new to Mumsnet so you may have to forgive me on some things, and if I go on and on and on!!!

My problem is with my youngest son who is 8 years old.

As a quick background, he was born at 24 weeks gestation and weighed 1lb 6oz, which I believe is a good weight. However, due to many problems he was in hospital for 8 months much of this time unable to feed, due to bowel nec, RSV, etc etc. He was unexpected to survive some of his ailments, but being the fighter he is he did survive. He has come out of it with global devleopment day, but no physical problems apart from his size.

Hi is now 8 years old and at his last measuring in may was 113cm, and is skinny as a rake!! I have brought up the issue of his size with his doctor previously and have been told not to worry about it as he follows a line on the graph, he is just above the bottom line.

The problem I am facing now though as he is getting older is he is getting less accepted by his peers. He is starting to get picked on because nobody believes he is 8, and this is affecting him in a negative way. Everyday he is getting upset about being so small, and I fear that this is only going to esculate as he gets older.

I know children can get growth hormone even if they have no specific hormonal reason, but should I keep pressing his doctor to address this? he makes me feel as if I should just be grateful he is alive, which of course I am, but I also want him to have a good quality of life.

Has anybody else any experience with this problem?

I would be very grateful for any advice.

Flooded Wed 15-Aug-12 09:59:15