Mumsnetters aren't necessarily qualified to help with medical problems. If you have any serious concerns, we would urge you to consult your GP.

Bullying of children with "different" ; parents.

(8 Posts)
SunnyCarrie Sun 19-Aug-12 16:05:58

Great advice and thoughts, I wondered ,bionicmummy, if I should start looking for a school, now. I have read up on Ofstead reports but wasn't sure if it was the done thing nowadays to view schools and put your name on a list, many parents say school entry is no longer done via a waiting list scheme any more but on LEA say so so left it but now have the motivation to go look anyway!
I am a Psychologist so in all theory I know I should have some answers but reality is degree doesn't teach life and through all child development theories there is almost zilch about parenthood practicalities and realities! I felt a bit out on a limb, I do feel school talks is a great idea and will definitely take my canine partner in.
I never knew about net mums bionicmummy! Thanks for this, really appreciate you letting me know especially as clearly you felt very similar to me when first entering groups. I have a friend just down the road who is expecting so she will come to groups with me but as soon as am able to move my leg again without busting the new joint, I have renewed motivation now to actually persue such things.
I kind of feel that actually knowledge of how to deal with particular aspects of disability and parenthood is so hard to find that any one needs to jump in with whatever knowledge they have whether it is easy Velcro baby vests, the gold dust of the UK, or places of help and advice !