Chessington - any top tips?

(53 Posts)
bodiddly Sun 08-Aug-10 15:49:52

I am thinking of taking ds to Chessington on our Merlin Pass this week. I know it is going to be stupidly busy but it is the only time I am off with him. We have never been before ... does anyone have any tips as to what rides to head for first etc? Ds is 5 and loves the big rides unfortunately!

Also, if I carry a bag with me am I going to be able to take it on the rides etc or is there anywhere to store them? I am new to going to these places without someone else so haven't got a clue!

bodiddly Sun 08-Aug-10 21:08:28

anyone?

Professor Bubbleworks gets stupidly long queues and breaks down lots, so I'd hit that early on. I
f he is tall enough then the Vampire is excellent - you do need to dump your bag on the platform.
Runaway mine train is also one to hit very early on. Probably first so you can fit in a few goes before it gets busy. Most rides you can take your bag on with you.

bodiddly Sun 08-Aug-10 21:15:13

so is it safe to leave bags do you think or do you just take money etc out of them? I was hoping to take some sandwiches etc but wont bother if it means I have to carry stuff. He is 117cm tall so not sure about the Vampire ride .. will check though. I am dreading some of the rides as I am not a rollercoaster type person ..

CarGirl Sun 08-Aug-10 21:20:36

I take a buggy and leave it with the picnic etc on, so far we've not had it stolen!

I'm hoping to go tomorrow - c u there????

Get there early ie 9.45 to get in and do the most popular rides first.

Bubbleworks has hideously loud music and is very busy

I think its safe, but I wouldn't leave anything valuable in it. Have you a money belt type thing?
Avoid the back of the runaway train if you don't like rollercoasters as it can get a bit rough and child squashing at the back.

The vampire is ok one steep climb and the rest is fast but not scary.

height restrictions