Howard Goodall - The Story of Music

(6 Posts)
greenhill Sat 16-Feb-13 21:15:54

The comment about Haydn made me laugh too gaelic

In this house we have a musical divide: I love Mozart, my DH is a big fan of Bach. We can both see the merits of the other composer, but I prefer uplifting and dramatic and DH goes for soul stirring.

I think the series could be used to teach students exactly how music works as it is so accessible. My 5 yo DD was temporarily entranced by Mozart, when we watched it together on iPlayer.

gaelicsheep Sat 16-Feb-13 21:02:23

I love this series, but I think it could easily be at least 4 times longer and still not come close to covering things in the depth they deserve. I'm a trained musician so most it is familiar to me, but I am enjoying it very much nonetheless. I am still a bit hmm at the opening Lady Gaga sequence, but it is a great series. I just wish there was much more of this kind of thing on TV.

I liked it when he said last week, if you can remember the tune it's Mozart, if you can't it's probably Haydn. I had to study Haydn for 2 solid years for A level music - I'm not a big fan and that comment was very true!

greenhill Sat 16-Feb-13 14:30:28

I'm learning a lot from this series, particularly in the first two episodes: music theory and why the chords work etc. It was very interesting particularly as I recognised most of the tunes he was using as examples.

Mozart is my favourite composer, the music is so uplifting.

Cooroo Sat 16-Feb-13 14:25:50

It's really interesting but I felt he rather dismissed Mozart as just a tune maker with no real feeling. I find a lot of Mozart intensely emotional and passionate and don't think these feelings are restricted to the Romantics.

racingheart Sat 26-Jan-13 22:26:23

Wah!!! Thank you for this. Last time he did a series about music on tv years ago I learned so much from it that I fell in love with him for it.

greenhill Sat 26-Jan-13 10:59:54