21 day blood test

(11 Posts)
user1479311539 Wed 16-Nov-16 16:05:07

Hello!
So, I was sent for the day 21 blood test last week to see if I was releasing eggs. I went on what I calculated to be day 21 of my cycle, however had a positive ovulation stick the day after the blood test.

I called the doctors today and the results have come back abnormal. The exact result was 4mmol... obviously I did the natural thing and had a quick google and got upset that it's not good news...

I'm just wondering how sensitive the blood test is and also if having the blood test before the day of ovulation could be a factor why my results were so low?

Any advice or insight into this would be amazing ... I'm new to this!

AmyC86 Wed 16-Nov-16 16:15:27

It is 100% accurate as it's a blood test. Did you use a digital ovulation test or just a normal one?

If it was a normal one, you do know that the test line has to be as dark or darker than the control line? Also, the most accurate time of the day is around 2pm.

user1479311539 Wed 16-Nov-16 16:34:24

I use just normal test... until that day I had never had a positive reading, always just a faint line, however on that day it was darker than the control line in the morning and evening and gone by the next day...

sarahboro1 Wed 16-Nov-16 18:16:00

I had my bloods done last month but my doctor took them every week so we could see a pattern. They were down below 5 until ovulation week when they peaked at 17. Doctor was happy with this so maybe you could ask if they'll track you for a whole cycle too? Xx

user1479311539 Wed 16-Nov-16 19:35:54

This sounds like a really good idea. Do you know if they were still low the day before ovulation? I just don't know if I'm kidding myself thhey could be wrong because I ovulated the day after

eurochick Wed 16-Nov-16 20:26:58

It sounds likely that the timing was wrong. Do you have a regular cycle? Did your period arrive 7 days after the test?