Coming off Cerazette/Cerelle to TTC!

(14 Posts)
Morwenna1 Sun 21-Jun-15 17:05:22

Hello everyone, I'm a complete newbie here but I thought I should sign up to Mumsnet to chart progress and get some general advice now myself and husband are TTC no.1!

(BTW - I haven't learned all the acronyms yet, so I may have to ask what things mean!)

I've been off the pill for 10 days now, I've been taking Cerazette for the last 6.5 years so it's going to be interesting to see how my body copes! Whenever I've missed a day (through forgetfulness or circumstances) before, I have had AF (got that acronym!) straight away. Nothing so far this time apart from extreme bloating and tiredness (but that could be work).

I had no idea about the 'horror stories' of coming off Cerazette until I started reading on the forums, so lets see what happens...I've had no problems taking it, but my periods have completely stopped.

I've read conflicting advice saying you should wait until your cycle resumes 'normality' before trying, and some sources, (including my nurse) said get on the folic acid and you can start trying straight away..anyone got any experiences to share on this? Looking forward to hearing from you!

Oysterbabe Sun 21-Jun-15 17:43:55

The only negative side effect I had coming off it was dizziness. I'd didn't start for a few weeks but once or did it I had dizzy spells regularly for about a month. Start taking folic acid now. It might be worth waiting until a bleed just to make dating the pregnancy easier. You won't know when AF is late and when to test if not.
Good luck!

Oysterbabe Sun 21-Jun-15 17:45:15

Sorry about the typos, my phone is so rubbish. You get what I mean smile

Number3cometome Sun 21-Jun-15 17:58:01