Considering TTC...coming off the pill!!

(9 Posts)
Amy2711 Fri 22-Aug-14 19:04:42

Hi Ladies

Newbie here. Me and the other half have decided to take the plunge! I just wondered if someone could offer some advice / your experiences on coming off the pill and how long it can take to conceive.

I've got 4 days left of my pack (combined pill) so would get my withdrawal bleed next Friday. My dilemma is - do I stop after the last one or start a new pack after this one then come off? We have a holiday 1st week in October and although I'm keen to start trying, I still want to be able to have a drink on my holiday. So, I know everyone is different but how long did it take after coming off the pill to a) have a normal period and b) become pregnant? I'm in no immediate rush but at the same time I worry that it might take a while for me to get pregnant and ideally I'd like a normal cycle to know when I ovulate and time it properly. Sorry for the long explanation. Any advice anyone?

Thanks sooooo much in advance! xx

LilyMyOneAndOnly Fri 22-Aug-14 20:53:04

Hi Amy

No advice as such, but I'm thinking of very similar timings to you. My husband and I have decided that we are going to start TTC our first in January next year.. I was going to come off the pill this month to let my cycle get back to normal, but we have a holiday booked in September so I've decided to keep taking it until we get back. Don't wan't to run the risk of getting my period/extended withdrawal bleed during the holiday!! Although I know that one more month won't make much difference I do feel very impatient and want to stop taking it now that we have made the decision!! Last time I came off the pill was about 8 years ago but my cycles went back to normal very quickly (from what I can remember!!)

It's all very exciting huh?! Good luck to you and your other half!! smile

chickadee87 Sat 23-Aug-14 08:36:43