Secondment/career or baby

(5 Posts)
pinklips Sun 09-Feb-14 23:52:34

I have been working as a HCA for a few years so I decided that I wanted to progress. I've also been ttc for 15months and had 1 mc since then. I want to become a nurse and have applied for secondment. I will find out if I've got it in April so we've decided to have a break ttc until then but then my question is, if I get it should I carry on ttc? I know my rights stay the same but it will impact the team who seconded me. So do I put team first or baby? I'll still finish my BSc Nursing after baby too but this is more a moral dilemma

Writerwannabe83 Mon 10-Feb-14 09:55:24

Hi Pinklips - I have been in this scenario myself. I am a nurse and my Trust offered to Second me for a year to get my Masters in a further qualification - it would only have been a year at Uni though so much less time than you are having to consider. It was really bad timing in my eyes as it meant starting the qualification a few months after me and DH got married and we had always planned to TTC straight away.

I was 30 and thought, "Do I want to delay TTC by a whole year?" - I also knew that after getting the qualification it wouldn't make sense to me to then TTC and leave my new profession straight away after working so hard for it. Ideally I would have liked to have worked in it for a few years before then making any life choices that would take me out of it. But that would mean delaying TTC for 2-3 years and I knew that could lead to problems such as it being harder to get pregnant the older I got etc.

I was really torn but in the end I turned down the Secondment. Me and DH got married, we started TTC 3 months later and I'm now 6 weeks away from giving birth. I know the offer of Secondment may arise again in the future or it may not, but I know I made the right decision for me. I've got 25 years ahead of me yet in my career and I certainly don't feel I made a mistake in making the choice I did.