TTC Second Time Not Any Easier

(7 Posts)
Tinyflutterby Thu 24-Jan-13 15:31:41

Hi, I'm new to this but thought it might help me if there's anyone in the same boat. I have an 18 month old little boy already, but it took us two agonising years to conceive due to my irregular cycle (always has been) and had to have loads of tests.

We are so grateful we have our son but would love a little sister or brother for him, but I am terrified of going through the same agonising looking for signs, trying and waiting every cycle again as it almost cost us our marriage first time round. We have been trying now for the last 3 cycles and I know its early days but I am 36 and aware that time is running out.

The clinic have said I have a retroverted uterus but I don't know if this is the problem or not. My cycles are anything from 32 - 48 days and I do appear to ovulate although this can be anywhere from 16 - 26 days. We were just about to have IUI when I found out I was pregnant first time, but I don't want to go to the doctor or anything again as I feel people look at me and say well you already have one and should be happy with that. I am, but I still get jealous when someone else announces they're pregnant, particularly if its an 'accident'.

AnythingNotEverything Thu 24-Jan-13 15:48:40

Hello there!

I'd go to the doctor. You may or may not get any help, but at least then you'll know what help's available, and you'll know if the retroverted uterus is a concern or a coincidence.

Good luck!

Tinyflutterby Thu 24-Jan-13 15:54:55

Thanks for that. I did actually ask my GP about the uterus thing at the time and she said it shouldn't make a difference. I looked it up online and it was very 50/50 - some said it was a factor and some said it wasn't. They described it as being similar to left-handedness, as in a certain percentage of the population just have it. Maybe I should just stop obsessing about it.

BridgetandtheHairyBrigands Thu 24-Jan-13 16:10:36