Best multivits to take for conception?

(17 Posts)
kd83 Mon 07-Jan-13 10:26:46

Hi Ladies,

I was just wondering if anyone had any advice on the best Multivits to take for conceiving?

I have been taking the Sanatogen multivit + folic acid since Nov but it gives me a bit of heartburn.

what has your experience been? any recommendations? any to avoid?

what about getting OH on them?

thanks

Irishmammybread Mon 07-Jan-13 14:15:27

Hi, I'm not an expert but as far as I know Pregnacare is the only brand that does a tablet specifically to support your fertility while trying to conceive ,I'm on Pregnacare Conception.
It's recommended to take them with a meal,I've had no side effects apart from yellow urine a few hours after taking the tablet!
My DH isnt into taking supplements but there is a Wellman Conception tablet available too.

ControlGeek Mon 07-Jan-13 19:27:48

Hi kd8, I take the morrisons multi-vitamins with iron, and separate folic acid supplements. Unless your diet is really appalling, or you know you are deficient in something or having specific issues conceiving, this should be all you need.

ControlGeek Mon 07-Jan-13 19:28:53

^should have said kd83 blush

HavingALittleFaithBaby Mon 07-Jan-13 19:32:01

Ideally it should be a pregnancy/conception specific multivitamin because they don't contain vitamin A - it can be harmful to a foetus. Tesco do ont which is reasonably priced. However, I just took folic acid on its own and switched to sanatogen when I got pregnant.

ControlGeek Mon 07-Jan-13 21:14:57

It depends if you are talking megavitamins or simply standard recommended daily allowances - vitamin A is safe unless taken in excess (>2500 micrograms/day) and is necessary for good fertility. That said, a good balanced diet should provide all the nutrients needed. Folic acid is the crucial one, then as faith says, when you get a positive test result go for a pregnancy cocktail.

ControlGeek Mon 07-Jan-13 21:16:05

sorry faith, misquoted - sanatogen or the like