Children's bookclub - Oksa Pollock: The Forests of Lost Souls by Anne Plichota and Cendrine Wolf

(27 Posts)
RachelMumsnet (MNHQ) Mon 03-Feb-14 16:21:32

February book club choice: We have 50 copies the second book in the Oksa Pollock series: The Forest of Lost Souls up for grabs.

Described as 'an excellent choice for anyone missing the Harry Potter books', 13 year old Oksa is a fearless heroine who enters the terrifying forest in an attempt to rescue her best friend. The Forest of Lost Souls is the second book in the phenomenal Oksa Pollock series, following on from The Last Hope, and will soon be joined by the third installment The Heart of Two Worlds.

If you know someone who may enjoy this book, apply for a free copy and come back let us know what they think or post a review.

AliceMumsnet (MNHQ) Mon 10-Feb-14 10:32:15

This giveaway is now closed. We will notify those who have been selected to receive a free copy via email. We would love to hear your thoughts, so please feel free to discuss the book here throughout the month, or post a review

Tucktalking Sun 16-Feb-14 11:35:22

Thank you very much for this fabulous book. As a Harry Potter fan I have been dying to read something more that is quite similar. This book just nails it. The introduction is one that immediately interests the reader and want them to know more. It is gripping and exciting to read. My son enjoys it too with me.

Mignonette Sun 16-Feb-14 11:36:22

Thanks very much for mine and it has been despatched to a YA for reading.

bioniknan Tue 18-Feb-14 08:48:55

my teenage daughter read it last weekend and said it was great she just loves that kind of story to read.

preety18 Thu 20-Feb-14 09:27:09

Thanks for my copy and my daughter is very excited about it and looking forward to read it.

joolzy Thu 20-Feb-14 11:35:52

My teen daughter was given the task of reading this, but as its a sequel she found it hard to get into without having read the first. She is going to request the first at the library then read this after. Thanks x

kpdchudleigh Thu 20-Feb-14 12:19:09

Certainly looks like an interesting read and the cover art is lovely, but my daughter loves to read book sets in the correct order so is saving pocket money to buy the first Oksa Pollock before coming back to this one. Thanks for a great giveaway.

Stripytop Fri 21-Feb-14 21:22:14

Thanks for this lovely book. We are all looking forward to reading it, but have decided to get the first in the series to read before this one.

WhitegoldWielder Sat 22-Feb-14 08:31:27

Thanks for this book - my DD is avidly reading this so will post a review when finished. She loved the first book and particularly likes serials but admits it's agonizing waiting for the next one to be published.

Rhimchugh Sun 23-Feb-14 09:35:58

Just making a start on this- will be back shortly with my thoughts...gorgeous looking book. Beautiful cover.

DoItTooJulia Sun 23-Feb-14 09:37:49

My ds is reading book one in this series, so I'm marking my place.

He's 9 btw, is that a bit young for this?

cather Sun 23-Feb-14 21:40:23

My 12 year old started reading this last week but he couldn't get into it. I will start reading it and see what I think.

buccaneer Sun 23-Feb-14 22:40:04

Thank you for the Oksa Pollock book. My son and I are going to read this together but have decided to tackle the first in the series before this one as we like a bit of order to our literature (we did this with the Harry Potter series and the almost never-ending Unfortunate Tales by Lemony Snicket) A beautiful and intriguing cover tempting us to open and start reading soon. Hope to post our verdict on this book in the not too distant future.

youwish Sun 23-Feb-14 23:07:40

Another that found hard getting into the story without having read the first book so will have to get that one first

weathermum Tue 25-Feb-14 11:38:13

thankyou for the book I am reading it first before passing it on to my grandaughter ...How pleasant to have a hardback to read, a very exciting cover.... this alone would sell the book...Once you can get over the names and can pronounce them it promises to be a very intriguing story.

barricade Tue 25-Feb-14 22:43:46

Many, many thanks for sending me a copy of "Oksa Pollock: The Forest Of Lost Souls". The alluring cover and synopsis entices one to delve into the pages immediately. However, I hope to first read the opening book in the series, "Oksa Pollock: The Last Hope", before doing so. Having stumbled upon it on the bookshelves of retail stores, I had placed it on my 'must read' list. Unfortunately, it seems this was one that had 'slipped through the net'.
But I now have a renewed incentive to go back and read the series from the beginning. I hope to read the second book following this. My review will be forthcoming as soon as possible ....

serendipity1980 Mon 10-Mar-14 10:43:07

Thank you so much for this book, I mentioned it to my sister who has book 1 and she suggested reading Book 1 first. So, I'm part way through the first book, which is like Harry Potter! Once I've finished that, I'll read and review the Forest book. I'll be back shortly!

debjani Wed 12-Mar-14 15:12:57

My dd (aged 11) has just finished this book even though she hadn't read the previous one. She says: It is extremely exciting- I couldn't put it down and I think it's certainly as good as the Harry Potter books. I thought it didn't matter I had not read the first book and it explained a bit about the characters and the previous book anyway. I can't wait for the next book!!

laurav Thu 20-Mar-14 10:46:43

Review from my 11 year old daughter - This was a fantastic novel and I could read it all day. I particularly liked the vivid character descriptions which are described so well it is like you have known them all your life. I also found the creatures that accompany the Runways very amusing and you end up wishing you had one! This series is incredible, rivalling the Harry Potters. I cannot wait for the 3rd book to come out. I would definitely recommend this book for 10/11 + year olds. FIVE STARS!!!!

Kudzugirl Thu 20-Mar-14 10:57:30

Cleverly ending with a cliffhanger making it impossible to not purchase the next installment, this book is refreshingly un-dumbed down with complex plots and vivid language.

However I was a little hmm in the way Hilda's depiction as 'not a real girl' -she likes rugby and doesn't wear sterotypically 'girly' clothing is used as a device to mock by some of the other characters, Oksa included. If this is meant to be an ironic comment upon these stereotypes then it went over my head.

Kudzugirl Thu 20-Mar-14 10:58:21

That should read-

'she likes rugby and doesn't wear sterotypically 'girly' clothing which is used as a reason to mock her by some of the other characters, Oksa included. If this is meant to be an ironic comment upon these stereotypes then it went over my head.

WhitegoldWielder Mon 24-Mar-14 16:41:59

My DD loves this book - series of books with an adventure theme featuring a strong heroine are her particular favorites. Easy to read, full of characters and can't wait for the next installment. However like Kud above she was a bit meh about how Hilda is treated and couldn't make up her mind whether she was ok with Oksa doing this? Maybe lost in translation? Thanks again for the free copy - I'm going to read it too!

growltigersontheloose Fri 28-Mar-14 15:13:09

I enjoyed this (though I did have to read the first book first). I'm not as attached to it as I was Harry Potter, though it does appeal in the same way. It should appeal to fans of HP, Artemis Fowl etc. and it's nice to see a strong female lead (though I agree with the above poster about the 'proper girl' comment). Sometimes I think the translation is a bit clunky but it doesn't really detract from the story. I enjoyed most of the characters, and will be keen to read the third (but not marching off to the bookstore on release day as I did with the HP series!)

barricade Sat 29-Mar-14 04:45:36

My Book Review of 'OKSA POLLOCK - THE FOREST OF LOST SOULS', by Anne Plichota & Cendrine Wolf, has finally been posted.

Long time coming, so thought I'll make the effort and provide a really detailed review of the book.

(Actually, not so much a review as a dissertation!! Sorry, got carried away.)

P.S. SPOILER ALERT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now