Books similar to David Walliams please.........

(14 Posts)
rainbowriver Sun 20-Oct-13 20:44:58

My son loves David Walliams books but won't read much else. He liked Roald Dahl but I really want to buy him some other books he can really get into.

He doesn't like Horrid Henry or Diary of a Wimpy Kid but would like a funny book!

Oh please help with some suggestions x

Mr Gum by Andy Stanton?

ZacharyQuack Sun 20-Oct-13 20:48:23

Watching with interest. My DD is much the same.

She has enjoyed the 12 Story Treehouse series, I think it starts with 12 Story Treehouse, then 24 Story, and the latest is 36 Stories.

hairtwiddler Sun 20-Oct-13 20:50:03

Definitely the Mr Gum books. They are so daft, I really enjoyed reading them to dd.

Cremolafoam Sun 20-Oct-13 20:54:02

YY to mr gum - love them

David Walliams has a new book too- Demon Dentist

rainbowriver Mon 21-Oct-13 09:21:13

Thank you. Will try the Mr Gum books, any particular one? Just had a look and there are loads!

Couldn't find the Story Treehouse series?

Yes, he read Demon Dentist as soon as it was out! He also said it was the best one so far x

Start with the first mr gum. Can't remember the title but it's about a dog and will give an intro to the characters

jndvnsh Mon 21-Oct-13 17:57:32

Message deleted by MNHQ. Here's a link to our Talk Guidelines.

MillyONaire Mon 21-Oct-13 17:58:41

The Mysterious Benedict Society
Not funny but very good - a series of 3.

TooTiredToBeCreative Mon 21-Oct-13 18:00:25

Fortunately the milk by Neil Gaiman looks very funny, have ordered it for my David Walliams loving Ds!

Mr Gum.

Based on the one David Walliams book I read with Dr it's pretty evident he's ripping Andy Stanton off big time.

The Mr Gum books are so much better in every way.

QueenBoudicea Mon 21-Oct-13 18:03:58

Was just about to suggest Fortunately the Milk. Dd reading it at the moment and finding it incredibly enjoyable.

rainbowriver Mon 21-Oct-13 18:53:05

Thank you! Fortunately the milk looks perfect!

He also wrote Coraline which is one of his fav films!

thanks

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now