Books similar to the Hunger Games?

(31 Posts)
lazarusb Sat 12-Oct-13 17:47:53

Dd and ds have both been addicted to reading these - in a way they haven't been since reading Harry Potter. Can anyone suggest anything similar for Christmas presents please?

LaVitaBellissima Sat 12-Oct-13 17:49:42

Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen are a trilogy by Garth Nix, which I quite liked. I'll find a review smile

LaVitaBellissima Sat 12-Oct-13 17:50:24
LaVitaBellissima Sat 12-Oct-13 17:52:30

Also Graceling, Fire & Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore are also good smile

scaevola Sat 12-Oct-13 18:03:01

I just asked DS. He suggested the Percy Jackson series.

tyaca Sat 12-Oct-13 18:10:02

quite a zombie-ish list below, but all with similar action-packed dystopian themes:

rot and ruin series by jonathan maberry

feed series by myra grant

gone series by michael grant

charlie higson's zombie books are really good reads too

tyaca Sat 12-Oct-13 18:10:58

sabriel series mentioned above also good, maybe more female skewed? how old are your dc?

lazarusb Sat 12-Oct-13 18:59:08

They are 13 and nearly 11. Both have quite mature reading tastes - has sometimes been quite a challenge to find 'older' reading that is appropriate! I will definitely research all of the suggestions above. Many thanks to you all!

booksteensandmagazines Sat 12-Oct-13 19:16:44

Divergent by Veronica Roth - I can really recommend it. It is being done as a film too though not sure when it will hit the screens.

I've got a list of dystopian books here that you can check out:

www.booksteensandmagazines.com/blog/dystopian-books

rootypig Sat 12-Oct-13 19:18:08

Have they done His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman?

scaevola Sat 12-Oct-13 19:19:31

Percy Jackson might be a bit too young, but they're such good page turners, they'r eprobably still worth a shot.

It might be time for the proper Dracula, Frankenstein and The Woman In Black.

Weegiemum Sat 12-Oct-13 19:19:59

I'd also recommend Gone - my 13 and 11 year olds have enjoyed them.

lazarusb Sun 13-Oct-13 13:31:30

We've read Percy Jackson & Philip Pullman but we will are going to look at the other books recommended - thank you everyone! I knew MN would come to the rescue smile

Sephy Sun 13-Oct-13 13:35:26

The giver by lois Lowry is another great one, though perhaps not as action packed and a bit more socially set than the Hunger Games.

DwellsUndertheSink Sun 13-Oct-13 13:45:12

try using this site - type in the name of a book yu have enjoyed, and it gives suggestions of other books and authors. Gone is in there.

My DD recommended Antony Horowitch - Power of Five series.

ALso, SUzanne Collins also wrote The Underland Chronicles, which my almost 11 year old has devoured. It may be too simple for your 13yo, but its got giant rats, bat and spiders and other underground critters.

NoComet Sun 13-Oct-13 14:09:00

DD1 says
Skulduggery pleasant
Maximum ride (DD2, 12 wants these for Xmas)
Cherub
Eragon
Alex Rider
Throne of Glass
Beautiful creatures (DD2 is sitting on her bed reading this as I type)

notnowImreading Sun 13-Oct-13 14:14:29

The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness is excellent. It is even more 'grown up' than The Hunger Games, though - I would say year 9 onwards, and I'm not a particularly cautious recommender.

MrsSchadenfreude Sun 13-Oct-13 14:18:02

Mine are now devouring "The Midwich Cuckoos" and "The Chrysalids." DD1 is reading the "Uglies" series too.

Yay to divergent series. Also the mortal instruments series

chicaguapa Sun 13-Oct-13 14:19:57

Another one for the Gone series. DD started them at 11 and enjoyed them.

exexpat Sun 13-Oct-13 14:22:39

The Noughts and Crosses series by Malorie Blackman (the current children's laureate)

YoniBottsBumgina Sun 13-Oct-13 14:27:26

Maximum Ride is definitely appropriate. Divergent is good too but it definitely hints towards sex - not sure whether this will feature in the last book, which isn't out yet.

MotherOfSoupDragon Sun 13-Oct-13 14:42:23

Is Gone by Michael Grant?

YoniBottsBumgina Sun 13-Oct-13 14:51:53

I don't know, I haven't read it.

BelleOfTheBorstal Sun 13-Oct-13 14:52:33

The Ask and The Answer series by Patrick Ness, starts with The Knife of Never Letting Go.
I know why The Hunger Games was more successful, the main character and premise held wider appeal, but having read both series, The Ask and The Answer is amazing, seriously good writing with themes that really make you think.
Would maybe hold them back from the eleven year old, they really do get inside your mind and I think the themes could be hard for an eleven year old to deal with.
Perhaps give them a read yourself first? They are well worth the time.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now