This topic is for discussing childcare options. If you want to advertise, please use your Local site.

childminding questions for a possible newbie!

(3 Posts)
quarkandmarmite Fri 10-Jun-16 22:56:26

I have been teaching for 16 years and have two children aged 4 and 1. To cut a very long story short, there is the possibility that I may leave teaching altogether and childminding has appealed to me for a couple of years but obviously, still not 100% sure yet!

So I have some questions that I am hoping people could answer that would help me in my decision. I am very sorry if some of the questions are laughable and pretty obvious to some. I probably know the answer, but have some uncertainty!!!

1) How long did it take from beginning to end of the childminding courses with your LA?
2) I have a Paediatric First Aid Qualification with my LA (level 3) which was completed in october 2015. Do I need a new one despite 'this one' being valid until 2018?
3) At what point do my earnings make me pay tax? Do I have to pay NI or any other taxes? When do people submit their tax forms etc?
4) In fact, how much cost am I looking at when setting up the business (my LA charge £150 for the childminding course)
5) If I want to provide food, do I need any other certifications such as food hygiene, cookery courses etc?
6) How much do CM's charge (especially in Yorkshire!) My CM charges £35 a day per child and that gives my children all three meals, snacks, drinks, nappies, wipes ans even the odd day trip.
7) What are the ratios - different variations depending on the ages of the children and do my children count? Eldest will be 5 when I 'swap careers' and youngest probably 2.
8) What is meant by 'over-heads'? Are these taxes etc?